We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be glad you chose this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You will be glad you chose this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Federal Pointe Inn. The hotel staff went above and beyond to ensure our every need was met. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of many of the interesting places in Gettysburg. I will definitely stay here again!!!!!!

The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed! Very cool place!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clifford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Researched thoroughly before booking reservation. Did not disappoint our entire stay. This is an old school that has been completely updated and modernized into a beautiful hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were beautiful and large (awesome high ceilings!). We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the beautifully landscaped grounds to the details in the common areas and rooms, everything here has been considered down to the smallest detail. This building retains its charm as an old school and the owners have done a wonderful job keeping many of the original details (such as the chalkboard behind the check-in desk and the transom windows). The windows are reminiscent of the old school and the original architect's name can be seen in the stone entrance. We were greeted as we approached from the parking lot and Sandy at the front desk showed us right to our room. She pointed out many of the details of the old school as well as the beautiful civil war artwork done by a local artist. We were lucky enough to have room 205 which has an extra sitting room that just happens to be the original front entrance to the school. So cool! Every afternoon they have tea and scones in the main hallway and yesterday they even had a cake to celebrate their first anniversary in business. At checkout today, I met the owner who wanted to be sure we had enjoyed our stay. The only downside to our stay (because this is an old building) is the sounds you can hear occasionally from other rooms. The guests above us woke us up at about 2:30am as they kept walking around their room and I could hear the guests in the next bathroom this morning. Overall though, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and will recommend it to anyone visiting Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Room 205 has the extra sitting room that used to be the front entrance of the school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Federal Pointe is an old school converted into an inn. We stayed on the second floor in a classroom. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly. Parking was free and there were plenty of spaces. It is close to downtown, but there are no shops or restaurants in the immediate vicinity. We would definitely stay there again. A suggestion for the hotel would be to offer a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was the way to stay in Gettysburg! Right from the start, pulling into the parking lot, we knew we made the right choice. The staff was super friendly and very helpful. We stayed in the basement "Honeymoon suite" and it was AWESOME! We had the entire floor to ourselves! The room was huge! Everything was new and so well done, but still had the historic feel that let you know you are in an old building. The facility it self was just amazing as well. Very short walk to food and bars, and not a long drive to get anywhere. I recommend staying here for sure!

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the top floor, corner room, to get a good view of the town! They have King rooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel during the 150th Battle of Gettysburg "bash". The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Constantly making sure everything was OK, or even just to chat for a few. There are only 18 rooms, so it is very intimate and cozy - and we loved that. The building was originally a school, and the ceilings are 12 or 14 feet high, so you never felt claustrophobic. Not to mention the rooms are very generous in size. Just slightly off the main square of town, it is much quieter than other "downtown" hotels, but not far away like some of the big chains. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

So glad we chose this place. Great location, warm clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. It was close enough to the main visitor center but far enough away for a respite from the crowds. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.