We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save Saved
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel during the 150th Battle of Gettysburg "bash". The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Constantly making sure everything was OK, or even just to chat for a few. There are only 18 rooms, so it is very intimate and cozy - and we loved that. The building was originally a school, and the ceilings are 12 or 14 feet high, so you never felt claustrophobic. Not to mention the rooms are very generous in size. Just slightly off the main square of town, it is much quieter than other "downtown" hotels, but not far away like some of the big chains. I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
41
65
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

So glad we chose this place. Great location, warm clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. It was close enough to the main visitor center but far enough away for a respite from the crowds. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

It is a nice and charming hotel, well located central in town and close to the historical areas.
We had a 2 queen bedroom - very big of size.
However we had a problem with the aircon, which could not be turned 100% off - so we were freezing all night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Did not actually stay here, but friends and I traveled down on an impromptu trip for the reenactment, were worried about getting tickets, called Sunday night for tickets for Friday, front desk staff went out of the way to answer questions and make sure that we had tickets waiting for our Friday arrival. Had previously called several other area businneses, and not one other person went out of their way to help us like the Federal Point Inn staff did. Kudos to them for this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Checked in on Friday night in June. Family of 4 from New Jersery. Kids loved the fact they where staying in converted school , lot's of history and great restoration into top notch hotel.

Rooms are large and nicely appointed with all the amenaties needed.

Staff and owner where very nice and gave us many good ideas while in Gettysburg.

Easy walk into town for dinner and shopping!!

This is a top pick in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having looked forward to our stay, we were booked into a room on the ground floor. The carpet was absolutely soaking wet next to the bed. Turned out water from the air conditioner had spilt over and it must have been a massive amount! When I approached the receptionist, we were not offered another room. To cap it all, Not only did our feet squelch underfoot but right outside the room was the most enormous air conditioner for the entire building-no sleep whatsoever! In the morning when I approached the day receptionist to find out where breakfast was served to be told they don't serve it, that just capped it all ! An absolute nightmare!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I recently had a 3 night stay at this hotel. I call it a hotel but it's really more like a bed and breakfast as the owner and staff are so friendly and genuinely want your visit to Gettysburg to be as pleasant as possible. The hotel is newly renovated so everything is like new. The rooms are spacious with very high ceilings. The walls must be very thick as we didn't hear any noise from other guests or from the street. The bathroom was well equipped with a very nice soaking bath tub that my feet appreciated after walking all day! It has a good location, about 3 blocks from the town square with just a short drive to the battleground. The air conditioning works extremely well and we actually turned it off for most of our visit as the room was comfortably cool.
Since I am a tea drinker, I appreciated that they had a dedicated Kuerig in the front hallway for just tea. There is nothing worse than making a cup of tea in a pot that has coffee taste in it. They also offer tea and scones every afternoon from 3-4pm.
I had called ahead and they made arrangements for us to have a private guided tour of the battlegrounds with Mr. Fox. He was the history teacher for many years so he was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour fun and informative.
I can't say enough good things about the Federal Pointe Inn and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.