We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Federal Pointe Inn was fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Save Saved
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
1 review
“Federal Pointe Inn was fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Checked in on Friday night in June. Family of 4 from New Jersery. Kids loved the fact they where staying in converted school , lot's of history and great restoration into top notch hotel.

Rooms are large and nicely appointed with all the amenaties needed.

Staff and owner where very nice and gave us many good ideas while in Gettysburg.

Easy walk into town for dinner and shopping!!

This is a top pick in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    32
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Having looked forward to our stay, we were booked into a room on the ground floor. The carpet was absolutely soaking wet next to the bed. Turned out water from the air conditioner had spilt over and it must have been a massive amount! When I approached the receptionist, we were not offered another room. To cap it all, Not only did our feet squelch underfoot but right outside the room was the most enormous air conditioner for the entire building-no sleep whatsoever! In the morning when I approached the day receptionist to find out where breakfast was served to be told they don't serve it, that just capped it all ! An absolute nightmare!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I recently had a 3 night stay at this hotel. I call it a hotel but it's really more like a bed and breakfast as the owner and staff are so friendly and genuinely want your visit to Gettysburg to be as pleasant as possible. The hotel is newly renovated so everything is like new. The rooms are spacious with very high ceilings. The walls must be very thick as we didn't hear any noise from other guests or from the street. The bathroom was well equipped with a very nice soaking bath tub that my feet appreciated after walking all day! It has a good location, about 3 blocks from the town square with just a short drive to the battleground. The air conditioning works extremely well and we actually turned it off for most of our visit as the room was comfortably cool.
Since I am a tea drinker, I appreciated that they had a dedicated Kuerig in the front hallway for just tea. There is nothing worse than making a cup of tea in a pot that has coffee taste in it. They also offer tea and scones every afternoon from 3-4pm.
I had called ahead and they made arrangements for us to have a private guided tour of the battlegrounds with Mr. Fox. He was the history teacher for many years so he was extremely knowledgeable and made the tour fun and informative.
I can't say enough good things about the Federal Pointe Inn and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed June 14-15.
-Staff very friendly and accommodating.
-Hotel is newly renovated. Everything in room was like new. Hotel has historic feel.
-Stayed in queen room on street level. Ceilings very high. Windows very tall. Room had adequate space and refrigerator. Did not hear any road noise.
-Free parking.
-No restaurant on site, but there is a restaurant next door. Went to that restaurant for breakfast -- nothing spectacular, but good.
-Location was close to downtown. Also, the hotel was right across the street from the meeting place for the segway tour that we went on, SegTours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great place to stay. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was on the front of the hotel but we did not notice any of the road noise others have mentioned. Since there is no food within the hotel, it was very nice to have a small refrigerator in the room. The restaurant next door serves a great breakfast, and they are quite speedy. There's a store across the street if you want snacks. The hotel is also within waking distance of many other restaurants and shops. The only negative we found was there were no before and after pictures of the renovations. The end result is so amazing, it would have been fun to see where it all started.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just traveled with my nephews to Gettysburg and had a great stay at the Federal Pointe Inn. The staff was friendly, the room I stayed in was very large with an adjoining living room area (with a cool chandelier) and the sofa bed, which I used, was actually fairly comfortable. My nephews said the beds were the best thing ever! The bathroom shower was spacious and had the perfect water pressure. Room was very clean and well maintained. The hotel is as pretty as it looks in its pictures and we walked into downtown for dinner and really enjoyed the easy accessibility. It was a very quick drive to the battleground as well. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We visited Gettysburg with our baby. The rooms are stunning and clean and the staff is polite and helpful. We had a gorgeous room with lots of beautiful windows and light. Usually, we would have loved this but we had a baby who is used to falling asleep in the dark. The woman at the front desk found a darker room and helped us move our things. We all had a great night's sleep and a wonderful stay. It was quiet too. Nothing disturbed our daughter and I don't think she disturbed any of the other guests. I could see it being romantic for a couple too. The location is great; I took a short walk the next morning right into the heart of the town. If you are looking for a beautiful, unique place to stay I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.