We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great stay, huge room, friendly front desk and VERY clean. Not on the main square of the historic downtown, but within walking distance. It is on a busy road at the fork between one busy one and one quiet one. No bother to us, though. Easy to get to just as we entered town. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would stay here again. There's no restaurant or breakfast offered, but there's a place just next door for a typical diner breakfast. We ate dinner at a little Mexican place across the street. It's a grocery store, with a restaurant in back. Worth a visit. Food was excellent and cheap.

Room Tip: try the diner next door and the Mexican place across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great place to stay with easy access to centre, large car park, excellent diner across car park for breakfast. This was a school- an elegant building reminscent of a civic building. Immaculate rooms with large beds. Very good value. Spent two nights here while visiting the battlefield. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We checked into the Federal Pointe Inn on a Saturday and stayed one night. The room was spacious and exceedingly clean. The bed was comfortable and while our room was on the second floor, we didn't notice a lot of noise, though I run a white noise app when we travel to avoid hearing noises like people moving around in halls and cars outside. The location of the Inn puts you just a short walk into town which is nice. The Inn has little things that make this place special such as in-room Keurig machines, in-room mini fridge with freezer, scones set out for guests in the afternoon and art throughout the corridors that is gorgeous. We both travel a lot for work and fun, and I rarely come across a place that is unique enough to make me want to get online as soon as possible to sing its praises. This place is special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in room 207 last night. The property is beautiful. Linda toured us upstairs and the basement, which has two fireplaces just recently discovered. I really like this place; especially our room.

If we stayed here again, we would definately request a third floor room due to the noise. When the guests just above room 207 use the bathroom, a "major swish noise" shoots straight down through the wall at the headboard of the bed. This was a very loud noise and went on throughout the night. When this was renovated, soundproofing should have been wrapped around the down drain pipes. Also, no coffee in the hallway; only green tea bags both days. I thought that was odd to have a Keurig coffeemaker and no coffee. Otherwise, this place is definately a place to stay. The bugs will be worked out in time, I'm sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room for a more quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I recently spent a weekend at the Federal Pointe Inn for our anniversary. The Inn was lovely and charming! Our room was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. We enjoyed the Keurig coffee and tea in our room and in the hallway lounge. The lounge area was a wonderful place to relax and peruse books for guests and to admire the authentic Civil War paintings. All of the staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed breakfast at the cozy restaurant just behind the Inn. The historic district of Gettysburg with quaint shops and restaurants is just a short walk away. There are so many things to do in and around Gettysburg and the Federal Pointe is ideally and conveniently located. We look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monarch Beach, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a unique experience in fabulous environment! My husband and I stayed at the Inn for three nights in October of this year. The Inn has only been open for three months so there were a couple of very minor issues that I am sure will resolved very soon. There are just 18 rooms in the Inn so it never has a feeling of a hotel. Our room was a very large corner room with a comfortable king bed. It was beautifully and appropriately decorated. The bathroom had both a tub and a shower and was quite large and well appointed with luxury soaps, shampoos etc. There was a small refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. If I remember correctly, there was coffee but no tea. We drink tea and since lots of places that have coffee makers have coffee but no tea, we carry our own so it is never an issue with us. There is no food service at the Inn but there is a handy cafe just across the parking lot and lots of places to eat in the town of Gettysburg and its surrounding areas. The couple of little things I brought to the attention of the receptionist were: 1) the large lovely desk in the corner of the room had a large lamp on it but there was no electrical outlet within reach of the desk so that corner did not have enough light to make the desk useful. 2) the room had only one outlet that was available for charging electronics unless you unplugged the coffee maker which gives a second outlet. We carry a power strip so we could make this work but I suggested that with everyone carrying cell phones, computers or ipads, cameras etc., it would be good to address this issue in the rooms. 3) we had no luggage racks the first night and only one the second and third nights. As most rooms are filled with two or more visitors I suggested that have two luggage rack per room would be reasonable. We were very careful covering the desk with towels on the desk for one suitcase but I would have been more comfortable with luggage racks. As I said these issues were very minor but I would hope that the Inn would address these as it would enhance visitors' stays. The staff was very helpful in assisting us with reservations and how, where and what to do and see. Our visit was mid October and if you plan to be in Gettysburg on a weekend in the fall you must make restaurant reservations at least a couple of days before arriving. Everything was booked when we arrived but Colleen did get us in Dobbin House the second night and it was wonderful. Staying in the school, now the Inn, was a special experience. The owner has contracted with an archivist and is going to be doing more to bring the school's history into the experience of staying in the Inn. That said, there are a few pictures in the downstairs common area of classes from way back that are not to be missed. I also want to point out that there are some issues regarding accessibility. Parking is close to the entrance and easy. There is a nice ramp up to the front door but there is no elevator so if stairs are an issue be sure to book on the first floor. Also the stairs to the second floor are more than the average number of steps and the ceilings on the first floor are very high. You pretty much have to do your own luggage so if that is an issue just be sure you are on the first floor. We managed the second floor just fine but I am writing this so if this is an issue for you, you can plan for it. We enjoyed our stay at the Inn and think that staying there added a wonderful plus to our fabulous experience in Gettysburg. If going to Gettysburg definitely plan a stay at the Federal Pointe Inn.

Room Tip: The upstairs corner rooms are lovely and well worth the little extra to stay in one of there rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the minute we arrived everything was great. Very close parking, a great greeting, very friendly staff and a great location. Loved our room - very nicely done with lots of room to move around. Rooms have a small bar area, mini fridge, Keurig coffee maker and a selection of coffees and teas. Wonderful paintings throughout the Inn. The bed was super comfortable and we slept very well. Walking distance to downtown Gettysburg and plenty of good restaurants. Highly recommend the Federal Pointe inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.