We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super reception, service and location in a newly renovated boutique inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Dallas, TX USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Super reception, service and location in a newly renovated boutique inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Vickie at front desk did super job greeting us and making dinner reservations. Rooms and bathrooms very nicely done, parking close to entry. Easy walk to Lincoln Sq shopping and eating. Inn very quiet. Couple things missing in this excellent new inn: folding cradle for luggage and night stand both sides of the comfortable bed would be nice addition. Inn is located less than a mile from battlefield. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed one night at the Federal Pointe Inn on a cross country trip to AZ. I booked the room on the hotel’s website after reading other TA reviews. We were not disappointed! We are budget travelers but chose to stay in this wonderful place for our 10th anniversary. We arrived late in the evening after a 10 hour drive and the woman at the desk was wonderful and friendly. She was kind and offered that our 1 year old could stretch his legs in the lobby while we checked as no one was below us that he could bother. She showed us to our room # 204 and informed us about the window units and floor heaters. Since they just opened in July they are still fine tuning a few things (not a big deal for us). The lobby is small but functional, which is what you’d expect from a 100 year old school house.

The bed was ooh so comfortable and we had the best sleep in a hotel in a long time. Our queen only room was nicely appointed with upscale furniture, the bathroom was gorgeous and there was a small bar area with mini fridge & Keurig coffee maker. The rooms are quite large and we had plenty of room to walk around after setting up a pack-n-play for our son to sleep.

The owner and staff were in the lobby in the morning. They were fantastic recommending a place to eat, offering us several different travel guides for the area and they directed us to a store steps away after our cooler broke on the drive the day before. Thanks to them we found a replacement cooler.

The hotel is beautifully lit at night and because we were on the ground floor some light seeped in at the very top of the window above the curtains. It did make the room a bit bright so if that’s a problem request a room away from the lights or on a higher floor.

I am so glad we chose to stay here on our cross country trip and would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: If outside light is a problem ask for a room away from the lights that light the hotel at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, VA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I was in a king suite with an air-jet bathtub (and a separate shower). The room was strikingly beautiful and quite large, as was the bathroom. Super clean! This hotel is in an old school building; the chalkboard remains in my room even though it is painted over and the erasers are gone. Ceilings are very high; decor and furnishings are quite appropriate to the building. They obviously had a top-notch design firm/team to renovate this building.

Location is ideal--just a block or two down the street is where shops and restaurants can be found. A local restaurant (Dunlap's) is just across the parking lot and is convenient for breakfast or other meals.

The reception desk was always friendly, personable, and entirely helpful. I even had to call back just after my check-out with a question not related to the hotel and got helpful assistance.

Why then am I not giving 5-stars? The hotel is a limited-service property and even though my room was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in, I don't think the hotel qualifies as 5-star.

I did have some minor issues with being chilly in the room and bathroom. I'm guessing that as winter approaches the heating system (a boiler?) will be fired up. The rather small baseboard heater in the bathroom seems to me to be at least one design flaw and not nearly adequate for such a large bath space.

I definitely recommend this property. It is unique in its setting and design.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
418 helpful votes 418 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I don't agree with some of your reviewers. From the moment we entered the hotel we were disappointed. The foyer is small, cold and unfriendly. It was a cool welcome too. We noticed they advertised complimentary tea and scones but when I asked, there were none, and as it turned out, only one tea bag in the "inn" and it'd was green!

Our room 205 was on the first floor and as with the rest of the hotel, had been recently refurbished. The beds were really comfortable but the noise from the occupants of the bedroom above from 3am completely ruined our night. There needs to be some sort of noise reduction measures put in place.

There are no restaurant facilities and as it is listed under "Hotels", I was expecting something. It was suggested we go to the "family restaurant" next door for breakfast. It was not inviting. It also should be noted that it, as well as Montezumas Mexican restaurant nearby, neither are licensed.

I felt this place was really overrated and was therefore very disappointed as our choice failed to deliver some very basic requirements - a simple welcome and a quiet night's sleep.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor only. Rooms below can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XENIA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I found this hotel while searching for places in Gettysburg. My family and I were so glad to have found this hotel and double happy to have stayed here. We wish we would have had time for an extra night. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. There was plenty of room and the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. We do not have anything negative to say about the Federal Pointe Inn. An excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is very new place in a totally remodeled old high school. very attractive. very nicely appointed. opened since July 2012. Employees were very helpful and made our three day stay more enjoyable. good location: only a 15 walk to the center of Gettysburg and all the retail and restaurants. We walked to many of the attractions, including the bus tour company, about 3/4 mile away. Two concerns: 1. No elevator, had to carry luggage up 22 steps to the top floor rooms. 2. HVAC have issues that they know they have to address. The outside temperature was cool, Mid 40’s at night, which made for a cool , but just acceptable morning. The supplemental electric base board heating ran all night. If it was colder, I doubt it would have been acceptable. I do not know how effective the air-conditioning is.

Would I go back, yes if the HVAC concern was fixed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breezewood, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a chance to visit Gettysburg. And if you're looking for a unique and beautiful hotel while you're visiting the battlefield, the Federal Point Inn will amaze you!
This was originally the Meade School. The owners, Pete and Liz Monahan, owned and managed the Quality Inn at General Lee's Headquarters for 16 years. They took a 50 year old Quality Inn in 1995 and elevated that property to the top 1 percent of the Quality Inns while they had it.
Now they have converted the Meade School into 18 rooms and suites and renamed it the Federal Pointe Inn. When we called, they said it's easy to find -- just 2 blocks west of the square in the center of town. So it's a short walk to shops and restaurants...Convenient for those of us who like a drink with dinner!

It was a quiet day and Pete gave us a tour. The rooms have 12 foot ceilings! The blackboards are still in place, though covered and painted, (charming). The bathrooms have been laid with marble cut by craftsmen onsite for each room. A lot of the furniture came from the historic Willard Hotel in Washington, D.C. That adds a very luxurious feel to the Inn. The artwork in the public areas and in the guestrooms are prints done by famous artists and depict some very important events and people from the Civil War. So appropriate to the town.
This Inn is beautiful! My wife and I look forward to our next stay. If you're looking for a unique place where the staff really knows how to take care of you, the Federal Pointe Inn is a great choice!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.