We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member to your Saves list
Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful find this hotel was! It's beautifully appointed, has large, inviting rooms and is conveniently located to the restaurants and shops of downtown Gettysburg. The staff is obviously committed to making this new hotel a success and went way out of its way to make us feel welcomed. The only thing lacking was a restaurant in the hotel, but there are lots of other choices within an easy walking distance. The Keurig coffeepot in the room and lobby were a good bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    44
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
54
98
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

An absolutely wonderul place to stay when visiting Greensburg. Stayed with my wife for a long weekend in one of the corner king rooms, and it was beyond expectations. Everything was perfect, and the owners did not cut corners in the restoration. The location was perfect, too, convenient to shops and restaurants as well as the battlefields. One minor suggestion would be to add a full-length mirror but other than that this place was a dream. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here during Labor Day weekend while visiting Gettysburg College for a volleyball tournament and touring the battlefields. The room was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location was great and we walked to several restaurants and throughout the town. Gettysburg College would be a ten minute walk and some of the Civil War sites are in walking distance- but you need to use your car to see most (which is true from any single location in Gettysburg). It was almost 5 stars- but for a leaky AC unit on the last evening. Staff was great and responsive. Wonderful Inn and we look forward to coming back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I booked and paid for a king suite room at another hotel in Gettysburg to celebrate our ten year wedding anniversary. When we arrived the hotel charged us for the king suite but when we arrived in the room it was a standard room with a very small double bed. The hotel told us there was nothing they could do. After some arguing we got our money back but we had no place to stay. By this time it was after 10 p.m. That's when we stumbled upon the Federal Pointe Inn. My husband went inside and spoke to the Innkeeper. He not only gave us a beautiful king suite room with a two person jacuzzi tub and a king size bed but he gave it to us at a very discounted rate when he heard our story. The hotel is beautiful and historic. The room itself was immaculate and very beautifully decorated. The bathroom was georgous. It was everything we had hoped for and more! The staff was amazing and very friendly. We just want to say thank you for saving our anniversary evening and we will be back! If you ever get a chance to stay here don't pass it up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed in one of the non suite king rooms. The room was absolutely wonderful - comfortable bedding, bathroom was very large. Flat screen tv in an old school. Original wainscoting align all the walls with beautiful turn of the century chandeliers hang overhead. Walking to the Center of town was about a 5 minute walk. Cannot say enough good things. A definite hotel to consider when traveling to Gettysburg!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This new hotel, in a renovated old school building, while not in the exact center of town, is an easy five minute walk to it. Our king bedded room was spacious, with original detail, 12 ft ceilings, spotless, and the bed and pillows extremely comfortable. Our room, on the third floor, was very quiet. Parking is on site, which I suspect it may not be in hotels smack in the middle of town. Only one quibble--there was no desk in the room if that is a necessity for you. Room had a mini fridge and coffee maker, as well as a flat screen tv and wifi. Hotel is very close to Gettysburg College. The staff members are very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended. Oh, and very reasonably priced!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestown, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Federal Pointe Inn for 2 nights in a King suite. Modern amenities (huge shower, separate jetted jub, mini fridge, flat screen tv) blended well with 1880s schoolhouse charm (12 ft ceilings, original windows, original moldings) - all of which made for a very comfortable room. Location was perfect for cycling throughout the battlefields and walking distance to the center of town. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Our only recommendation - request a room on the top floor. Keep in mind - no elevator, but it will be well worth the trade off. The first night was perfect - minimal traffic noise from the main street was not a big deal. The second night we had a hyped up baby elephant staying in the room above us. Ok it was a young child, but you never would have known it. Once the caffeine or sugar finally wore off, it sounded like a plane was landing above us. Apparently it was now bath time and the jetted tub was very loud. Maybe not a big deal if it was early, but it was past 11pm at this point.

Unfortunate quirks that go along with an older building. We still absolutely recommend the Federal Pointe Inn and will return if ever in the area again. But next time, we will be sure to be the ones on the top floor :-)

Room Tip: Top floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 75 Springs Avenue, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Pointe Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.