We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curry carrrot soup-The best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Family Baking Company

Wells Family Baking Company
100 Chambersburg St., Gettysburg, PA
717-337-2900
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #19 of 109 restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Curry carrrot soup-The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently ate lunch with our daughter at Wells Family Baking Co. What a delicious lunch! I tried curry carrot soup (and I'm not a huge fan of cooked carrots), it was delicious - like the rest of our lunch. I would highly recommend this establishment for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    26
    6
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing food - decent cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My mom, aunt, sister, and I visited this establishment for lunch on Saturday. Three of us got the caprese salad and one got a turkey Panini. We all loved our meals! The tomatoes for the salad were delicious and local. Everything in our meals was fresh. The presentation of our lunch was impressive for a small restaurant. I would definitely visit this restaurant for another meal! I split a Smores cupcake with my sister for dessert. The bottom had graham crackers which were a little dry, but the center had a delicious chocolate truffle. It was good, but I had a better cupcake while I was in Gettysburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OK -- not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The cheesecake was good, not great. The coconut macaroons were so dry, they were hardly edible. The staff was very friendly and nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly employee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

After seeing news story about it we searched and found the shop. there was very little to choice from even though it was around 5 pm. the employee was very friendly but she gave us a bad call on where to go for dinner... the place she sent us to- blue and grey bar stunk! the cupcake was good as was the cheesecake.. price was ok. atmosphere was poor and run down

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maiden NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service Good Cupcakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The staff was friendly the cupcakes were good..they were fairly fresh a little sweet for me but the rest of my family enjoyed

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Family Baking Company also viewed

 

Been to Wells Family Baking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Family Baking Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.