We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small bits of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Family Baking Company

Wells Family Baking Company
100 Chambersburg St., Gettysburg, PA
717-337-2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 115 restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert
Elgin
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Small bits of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I first went to the bakery across the street, but they were closed. Needed a sweets fix. Walked into the bakery. It doesn't smell like sugar, the scent I associate with bakeries. Cupcakes displayed, unable to decide and since I am on vacation took one of everything. It was only 8 cupcakes. Each one is a delight. The frosting is lite and smooth. The cakes rich. Started with the chocolate covered strawberry, yummy. Different flavors equal much bliss.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    30
    9
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Unexpectedly came upon this gem when in town looking for a place to grab a sandwich. All ingredients were fresh and locally grown/made. Grilled Brie cheese and jam panini was genius and absolutely delicious as were the caprese salad, turkey club and the goat panini. Presentation was spot on. Our order was taken immediately, but it did take some time for us to get our food. When we began eating we forgot about all about how long it took and decided it was definitely worth the wait. Don't pass up this eatery.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best of the best in cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having garnered an appetite after visiting the battlefield for the past 3 hours, we decided that cupcakes were the way to go. We spent some time roaming the streets of Gettysburg and sampling different cupcakes. The ones here won unanimously from my group of six. The cake was soft and moist as well as the frosting being a true buttercream. We had filled and unfilled cupcakes, each delicious in its own right. On our way back home the next day, I'm not embarrassed to say we stopped by again and got a dozen to go, along with 3 extremely scrumptious cookies!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock AR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The bakery made a wonderfully rich chocolate cake for my wife's birthday during our stay at Gettysburg. I had called ahead and ordered the cake over the phone. I sent them an edible image for the cake. They exceeded my expectations. Next time I visit Gettysburg, I want to try one of their cupcakes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WELLS ROCKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been coming here since she opened and her cakes and baked goods are and always be amazing , and now she has a lunch menu that will knock your socks off , it is modestly priced with things you would not expect from Gettysburg. Also if you don't try it you will be missing one of the jewels of our town .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Family Baking Company also viewed

 

Been to Wells Family Baking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Family Baking Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.