We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wells Family Baking Company

Wells Family Baking Company
100 Chambersburg St., Gettysburg, PA
717-337-2900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Unexpectedly came upon this gem when in town looking for a place to grab a sandwich. All ingredients were fresh and locally grown/made. Grilled Brie cheese and jam panini was genius and absolutely delicious as were the caprese salad, turkey club and the goat panini. Presentation was spot on. Our order was taken immediately, but it did take some time for us to get our food. When we began eating we forgot about all about how long it took and decided it was definitely worth the wait. Don't pass up this eatery.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sharon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best of the best in cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Having garnered an appetite after visiting the battlefield for the past 3 hours, we decided that cupcakes were the way to go. We spent some time roaming the streets of Gettysburg and sampling different cupcakes. The ones here won unanimously from my group of six. The cake was soft and moist as well as the frosting being a true buttercream. We had filled and unfilled cupcakes, each delicious in its own right. On our way back home the next day, I'm not embarrassed to say we stopped by again and got a dozen to go, along with 3 extremely scrumptious cookies!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock AR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The bakery made a wonderfully rich chocolate cake for my wife's birthday during our stay at Gettysburg. I had called ahead and ordered the cake over the phone. I sent them an edible image for the cake. They exceeded my expectations. Next time I visit Gettysburg, I want to try one of their cupcakes.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WELLS ROCKS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been coming here since she opened and her cakes and baked goods are and always be amazing , and now she has a lunch menu that will knock your socks off , it is modestly priced with things you would not expect from Gettysburg. Also if you don't try it you will be missing one of the jewels of our town .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is the BEST place in Gettysburg for lunch! Fresh, local ingredients in interesting combinations on fresh baked bread as well as soups and salads. I had the grilled brie cheese with strawberry jam and fresh strawberries. A tasty HOMEMADE pickle and a combo of potato and sweet potato chips rounded out the plate. There are so many other combinations to try! This is NOT your tired ham-and-cheese on white bread. What about roasted turkey, smoked cheddar, candied bacon, sweet onion jam, cranberry bourbon compote and honey dijon on sourdough? That's next on my to-do list. Follow this up with a slice of cake or cupcake or biscotti and coffee. This is a beautiful location in a historic building with super nice folks to wait on you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wells Family Baking Company also viewed

 

Been to Wells Family Baking Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells Family Baking Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.