We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luke's American Grille - CLOSED

Luke's American Grille
101 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reamstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple and Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Small place. Simple food. I had the cheese steak and fries. Both very good. Nothing fancy. Service was fine, speed was great. Value is very good. Could have more indoor space, a little cramped but would not keep me from going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gettysburg, pa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate here once in August and once in February. Meant to go back in the fall, but never had luck with parking. The place is clean and nice, and very attractive, especially considering what other uses the building has seen.

The food was fine. We missed the donuts that they had had in August and no longer seem to make. The prices are high, such as $9 for a reuben that doesn't even come with chips. If you're walking by and hungry, it'll be a fine lunch or dinner...or just walk a few more blocks to Montezuma's or ABC.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The food was pretty good. We had soup and sandwiches. The inside is very clean and comfortable with a good view to watch street activity. The lady at the register was so pleasant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you want to eat in a true 1950s atmosphere.......... this is the place for you. Very friendly help. Rather small but great food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“No excuse for less-than-mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

With tons of Gettysburg tourists and college students looking for food on a Saturday night, you'd expect a place as attractive as Luke's American Grille to be hopping. It was nearly empty when I was there at 6:30 pm, and once I got my sandwich and fries I could see why. I ordered a chicken salad sandwich, thinking how hard is it to mess up a chicken salad sandwich? Yikes, the whole wheat bread was toasted to cracker-like consistency and there was a meager amount of chicken salad. The fries were ordinary and frozen. Bleh, bleh, bleh. The bar for decent food in Gettysburg is so low, that if the owners of Luke's tried just a little harder they could have a real winner on their hands in the local American diner-food category.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's American Grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luke's American Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.