We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Herr Ridge

Save Saved
You added Inn at Herr Ridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Herr Ridge
900 Chambersburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Getaway Package
Ranked #10 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Inn recently, the staff was very helpful and polite, the rooms were wonderful. We've stayed at B&B's many times before, but this was a truly relaxing and welcoming experience. The location was great and parking was not an issue (a common concern in Gettysburg).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Inn. We are pleased you found our staff to be friendly and polite. They truly do go out of their way to make each guest feel welcomed. And you are correct...we do have a spacious parking lot! Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    28
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
132
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently enjoyed a stay at the Inn at Herr Ridge this past week. We were not familiar with the Inn although had stayed at other B&B's in Gettysburg numerous times before. We were extremely pleased with the Inn at Herr Ridge. We stayed in Room 4 which was an absolutely gorgeous room and we had the surprise of finding a fruit and cheese tray along with chilled champagne upon our arrival. The room was cozy, warm and very comfortable. The history in the Inn is remarkable and I did not know it's role in the conflict of Gettysburg until I read the history provided. We would no doubt stay at the Inn @ Herr RIdge again. The staff was more than pleasant,helpful and always greeted us with a smile and eager to help in any way they could. We are familiar with several B&B's in Gettysburg and as is not unusual, you tend to stay where you are familiar and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised as I found out about Herr Ridge via Groupon. The home is very tastefully decorated and their common areas are cozy, clean and inviting. They have a great outside balcony on the second floor which would be wonderful in the warmer months and even being January, I took advantage of it. The food was good from what we had. We were up early in the AM (5AM) and out past dinner so we missed both dinners. We viewed the menu which appeared as advertised - elegant. We traditionally enjoy relaxing in a more comfortable environment and don't care to pack 'dress clothes' for a weekend getaway leaning more toward being comfortable (jeans) and low key as far as dress and meals. There are several more low key options in the area for dining. For those folks who don't mind doing so, the meal would probably be very enjoyable. Thank you for a wonderful weekend. We highly recommend the Inn at Herr Ridge and would enjoy staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your very detailed review concerning your stay at The Inn at Herr Ridge. We are glad you enjoyed the fruit, cheese and champagne you found in your room and were able to be out on our rooftop! The staff works very hard to provide our guests with everything they need or want to make their stay as pleasant as possible. We hope now that you are familiar and comfortable with our B&B, you will come back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

January 11, 2013 was an amazing place. I love Gettysburg and I've been wanting to stay at Herr Ridge. My husband and I spent our 5th wedding anniversary at the inn. We stayed in room 1, the staff had champagne, a fruit & cheese tray waiting for us which was unexpected. My husbands and i love chocolate covered strawberries which the Inn provided for us. We had dinner at sharpshooter bar & grill, we were able to meet the owner Steve Wolf. He has dedicated his life to renovate and operate a top notch bed & breakfast, you feel as you have gone back in time 150 years to the battle of Gettysburg. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and willing to do whatever it takes to make sure your stay there was tailored to your needs. They went above what we could have ever expected. We will return soon and highly recommend the Inn at Herr Ridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
First let me say "congratulations" on your anniversary. We are so pleased you chose Our Inn to celebrate. We are also glad you enjoyed the fruit and cheese plate and the champagne... and the chocolate covered strawberries are amazing! Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. We are glad you found them to be attentive and accommodating. Please return and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife decided to surprise me for our anniversary with a trip to the B&B. She bought a groupon for $279 and it was good for two nights (Friday and Saturday), two bottles of champagne and a $25 food voucher for the restaurant. When we arrived, we were greeted by a warm smile and a champagne toast. The hostess told us about the Inn, and gave us a tour, as well as leading us to our room. When you walk into a B&B, you expect to find an old room, small and rinky dinky.....but this room was HUGE! We had a great kingside bed, a gas fireplace that we could change with the flip of a switch and a HUGE jacuzzi.

We absolutely loved this place and would highly recommend it. And we went to their Bar called sharpshooters were the pool and darts were all free and we heard a local band play.

We will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at The Inn at Herr Ridge. We are so glad you chose our inn to celebrate your anniversary. We are glad also, that you were able to go next door to Sharpshooters Bar and Grille and enjoy all they have to offer. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendtsville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

December 26, 2012 was full of snow,sleet, freezing rain. Inn at Herr Ridge remained open to offer a delicious meal and our room for the evening. It was our 25th wedding anniversary. The Inn made it special by adding special flowers, a beverage, and a fruit tray. Many times old homes are cold, but our room was warm and toasty with the gas fire place making the evening even more special to me. I love old houses and would recommend the Inn at Herr Ridge.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It was a very "wintery" evening the night you stayed as our guests. We are so glad you were able to get here and had such a wonderful experience. And congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary! Please come back and celebrate with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This inn does not give refunds, even with a 6-month notice. We made our reservations in August 2012 to attend the 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg in July 2013. This was not a special deal, it was a normal 6-day reservation. My husband received notice that he would lose his job due to lay offs, so we called off the trip to Gettysburg (we live in Colorado). He asked the manager for a refund of our $2000 room fee. The manager would not refund our money, even though we gave a 6-month notice. It is very likely that the room could be rented out again, since the anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg is a very popular event. Be careful! These people don't do business like other inns or hotels. We've lost our $2000. Don't let this happen to you.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, General Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
First we would like to thank you for the opportunity for considering our inn for a very special occasion. I would also like to take this opportunity to clear up your concerns and misunderstandings.

We do require a non-refundable deposit for events such as the 150th celebration of the battle of Gettysburg. We do, and have explained the reason for the full amount to reserve room accommodations. In addition conformation and cancellation policy are explained, and e-mailed at the time of booking the reservation. Our policy clearly states that if we are not able to rebook the room you will be charged the full amount. However if we are able to rebook the loss of room nights, we are only charging a booking fee. This is an industry standard, and we feel we have been more than fair to all our guest, and clientele.

We apologize that you have fell upon difficult times in your family, and household. We would hope that you would like to visit us so that we can redeem our fine reputation that we have earned throughout the years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We needed a getaway weekend - just the two of us! It had been a bad summer with health concerns and surgery. What a perfect choice! We spent 3 nights at the Inn including spending our Thanksgiving day at the Inn's holiday dinner. The breakfasts and the dinner were wonderful, but, the star attraction is the staff. The young women who took care of us over those three days were friendly, courteous, and attentive. Robin and Autumn greeted us each morning and we frequently crossed paths with them several times each day...and every time it was a pleasure. Michelle was our server on Thanksgiving day, and despite the crush of serving between 200-300 people that day, she was great. She was there when you needed her, and yet she didn't hover over us and allowed us to enjoy the meal and each other's company. You've done a wonderful job recruiting your staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herrtav, Manager at Inn at Herr Ridge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay here at the Inn. I am sorry you had a a bad summer, but very glad you decided to spend some time with us. Also glad you enjoyed not only the B&B staff (Autumn and Robin) but that you found Michelle to be pleasant and attentive at Thanksgiving. We are very proud of our entire staff, and thank you for all your compliments concerning them. Please come and be our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Herr Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Herr Ridge

Address: 900 Chambersburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The enchanting atmosphere of the Inn at Herr Ridge is unforgettable. Built in 1815 and nestled between the historic battlefields of Gettysburg and one of Pennsylvania's wooded treasures, Caledonia State Park, the Inn offers a rare experience to every guest who crosses the threshold, and is only minutes from town. Tastefully decorated, charmingly unique rooms await. Enjoy an evening in your room by the fireplace, or step into your private Jacuzzi bath. Hungry? Experience the alluring setting of our private dining room. And don't forget the wine. We offer an extensive wine spectator award winning wine list. Many of which are stored in our exquisite, windowed wine cellar. Our full-service bar also offers premium spirits. The main house of the Inn, became the first Confederate hospital during the battle of Gettysburg. It is beautifully restored and listed in the National Register of Historic Places. If you are searching for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. The fireplace is glowing, and the wine is chilled. Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at Herr Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Herr Ridge Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Herr Ridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;