We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an OK place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's an OK place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed here because everything else was booked the week end we went to Gettysburg. We got two rooms. It's a few miles out of town and away from restaurants and attractions. The hotel was full and I liked that we did not hear other guests walking in the halls or from other rooms. Maybe we were just lucky to share the place with quiet people that week end. The pool and hot tub were nice. The beds were comfortable. Our rooms were in the older building which seems in need of a facelift: drippy toilet, worn fixtures, old wall paper. But it was comfortable and since we weren't there to stay in the hotel for more than rest it was OK. Stay here if you can get a well discounted rate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    83
    72
    77
See reviews for
79
58
21
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
11371
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I must say out of all the hotels in Gettysburg, This is far most the best I have ever stayed at.
Good Food, Good Staff, Good Room

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Booked this hotel through Priceline for $80/night. When you first arrive, the grounds are very beautiful and the check in area is very nice. That's where it ends. The front desk staff were rude. Not only to me, but to other guests checking in at the time. They were very worried about what they were going to eat for lunch, instead of taking care of guests. On to the room in the "old" section (I think because we booked through Priceline, we weren't allowed to use the "nice" rooms in the second building ~ wallpaper peeling, towels were threadbare, floors dirty and even the door jams were black with fingerprints and dirt. On to the pool area ~ really, this should just be shut down by the Board of Health. There is mold EVERYWHERE. When I read that people liked the pool area, I am wondering if we stayed in the same place??? It was disgusting !!!! You can get a serious disease in this place. That's when we decided to leave. I didn't even create a fuss at the front desk and ask for my money back. Just told them the place was disgusting, left my key and off we went. I'll never go back, nor will I recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

the old bulding is awful we did not get soaps shampoo the outside door which was supposed to be locked by key was broke it was a room with peeling wall paper carpet was old and worn and bedspreads were very old and worn. then we stayed in the new building and it was the best beds were fantastic room was very clean sleep was great not like the old building with paper thin walls a difference between night and day. if you stay here do not stay in the old building it is awful..........................................

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

My sister and our friend took a trip to Gettysburg and spent a night at the Eisenhower. Luckily we did our own pricing at Priceline and got the room for $50 a night. I'm glad we paid no more then that because it was not worth it. The hotel itself was outdate. The wallpaper in our room was peeling and scuffed. The shower had bad pressure. The curtains were too short so once the sun came out you woke up because light filtered in from the bottom of the curtain. The AC in the room kept turing off and the room was too warm. If you want it cheap try Priceline. I wouldn't recommend it though. Also they offer no breakfast. You are better off staying at the Best Western or Days Inn

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

I was in Gettysburg for an overnight visit. My girlfriend wanted to go experience some "ghost" and I needed a little getaway.

I made a $40 bid on priceline for a 2star hotel room in Gettysburg, and I got a room at the Eisenhower Hotel. As pointed out by Laura in the other review, it is definitely outdated. Our room did have double beds, so she might have just not been lucky about that.

Pros:
-clean, good water pressure in the shower
-The inside pool is kinda neat, although we didn't get to use it.

Cons:
- Four miles south of town. You cannot walk to anything in Gettysburg from the hotel's location.
- It could use a paint job in and outside the rooms.
- In room coffee pot was miserable
- Not worth $75+tx/fees if you pay full price. If you have to pay full price, better stay at the Days Inn or something else in town.

Summary: if you need a cheap, clean place to crash while visiting Gettysburg and don't mind driving the four miles to town, it's an okay place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I used a coupon from roomsaver.com . I walked in. Quick service. Receipt slipped under our door. Had to run bath water alittle long to recieve hot water. However all together it was a good experience. I would suggest to stay here!
It was a hop skip and a jump to the conference center. We liked that!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.