We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
East Berlin, Pennsylvania
1 review
“great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed over on New Year's Eve, and had a terrific time. The staff was extremely helpful, and you get the feeling that with the excellent way it's being managed, it's only a matter of time before it becomes one the very best hotels in the area. There is a new management team in place, and after despite some negative reviews due to some less than stellar recent history, we had an excellent experience!

Room Tip: depends on what you like, but I was very happy with my room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    66
    82
    66
    69
See reviews for
78
58
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently thought we were staying at the EH&CC, my husband was attending a conference; however, when checking in we were told we were staying at the Aspire, right next door (and connected with interior corridors). No problem. Upon checking in we found the room to be just ok, but it had no information about either facility, restaurants, etc. in the room. Upon checking with the front desk, they had none either, but the restaurant and lounge were listed on an electronic board in the lobby. So we decided instead of travelling back into town we would just eat dinner there. Lo and behold, the restaurant was closed because there were so few guests in the facility, but the lounge would serve food. Only trouble was, we both picked the same entrée, and the waiter had to come back and tell us only one portion was available. We were the only patrons in the place, so I teased my husband and said he bought out the entire restaurant just for us. The food was okay, not exceptional. The next night we chose to eat in town. I must say that the employees were friendly, but it seemed no one knew everything. One person even told us that the Aspire had been recently renovated, I don't think so!

Room Tip: Our room was just off the lobby, no problem there, no outside noise because we just faced another bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

After hearing raves and paying a higher price than desired I was excited about spending the 150th anniversary of the Gettysburg Address here. The room is dated with SEVERAL holes, dents, marks, etc. throughout the room. A tacky and tactless sign threatens a bill if you steal their towels. The room had not been vacuumed as "souvenirs"' from the previous guest littered the floor near the damaged vanity. The room was VERY NOISY - the toilet above us seemed to explode every time it was flushed. People walking down the hallway on the floor above us echoed through our room like we lived in a basement apt. Sound from pool area was very loud - but area closed promptly at 10. I would chose Motel 6 before I came back here.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It's tougher to hide physical flaws the older you get, and the same is very true for the Eisenhower. They've got a nice quiet location just outside of town (maybe my favorite location), but that's about all this place has going for it these days. It's clean on the surface, and the people who work there are decent folk who try. That said, everything is worn, from the rugs to the bathrooms and all the in-between. Stains, burns, funky cleaning chemical smells...this place has it all. To top it off, the water in the shower/tub ran rusty and the toilet wouldn't flush, even after a maintenance call. Unless they bring this place up to speed it's simply not worth staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Yeah, it is showing its age, but you are visiting a historical location right? A little "history" in the hotel can't be a bad thing, right? But if you are looking for charm, a little romance, steer clear. This is a place for a family or conference. No ambience. But for our conference it was fine. The conference room was fine, they provided good food. Very friendly staff, quick to help. (Shout out to helpful Bethany at the front desk).

As for room itself, 1st floor, it was decent. It was also huge! I have never stayed in a room where there was an echo. However, it is not huge in an impressive way, just huge in a big rectangular, not enough decor on the walls, way. Still, comfortable enough beds, everything worked. Pillows were kind of hard, though. I would never stay here on a romantic weekend, but for work conference, sure, why not?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This property was probably a top facility when it was built in the 60's(?) but it has likely not been updated, just the occasional coat of paint. It has a a musty smell in the hallways although the room did not smell. Rooms are dated and worn and while the mattresses were new, the sheets did not fit so you spent the night fighting with them. Bathroom mirror sported a sticker that said they marked linens with invisible ink and you would be charged if they were not all accounted for when you left! Maybe a concern if they were top notch linens...
Although I booked directly on their website, they did not have our reservation. Not a problem since they had rooms and after we saw the room we knew why.
It is a lot farther from the town and all the sights than we expected but since it was November and not peak season we did not have any problems finding parking so we didn't use the shuttle.
Indoor pool looked ok but needed updating. Fitness center equipment had dust on it.
Generally, everything was old and in great need of updating. We would not stay here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have spent the past 2 years working very closely with and planning a very large conference at the Eisenhower Hotel. I cannot rave enough about the hotel staff, service, food, accommodations, and overall positive atmosphere we experienced over the 4 days of our event.. We had 250 people in attendance and had luncheons that had 80-85 people - all the food was hot, delicious and served promptly by staff that was always friendly and had a smile- The Italian Lunch Buffet that had 160 people in attendance & had many people saying it was the best food they've ever eaten at one of our conferences in years. The same was said of the Island Buffet Theme we had one evening. The Aspire Hotel has been completely redone and ALL rooms had new beds, flat screen TV's, carpets and updated décor. All of the hotel staff bent over backwards for us. Our total experience was so positive that we will return to this site for future conferences.

Room Tip: Best to stay in the Aspire where everything is new... the walk between the hotels actually is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.