We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for our conference!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for our conference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I travelled here over the summer to attend a conference here at their center and also my work booked a room for me here for the week. Looking at the pictures initially the place looks huge and the property was beautiful. The rooms are rather spacious and the amenities are nice. The restaurant on site was pleasantly surprising to be so delicious! I found myself eating there quite often! Would definitely recommend if you're in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Cile N;

Yes, the Gettysburg Eisenhower Hotel is a "“Great place" for a conference! And we are also a great place to stay at when visiting Gettysburg; so thanks for posting this review on TripAdvisor and for staying with us. We appreciate both!

We have been renovating the Eisenhower Hotel, updating our guest rooms and expanding our service offerings. It seems that our changes have had a positive impact on your stay.

So, thanks again for telling the world about enjoyable stay at the Eisenhower Hotel and for recommending us to other visitors.

Please, come visit us again!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    68
    87
    74
    80
See reviews for
81
59
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Hill, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

When we got to our room, the heat was off. It took over 24 hrs. for the room to get warm. We called maintenance twice during our stay and it took over 30 minutes for them to respond each time. The ceilings are spotted, the walls need painting or new wall paper, the furniture is scratched and chipped. It wasn't a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Stay somewhre else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Cherscars,

We appreciate your staying with us once again at the Eisenhower Hotel and you posting your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly value your years of continued support.

We also appreciate the fact that you and your group are currently in negotiations to return in 2013 to the Eisenhower Hotel. Honestly, we wish you had added this part to your review!

And yes, we know that some of our rooms are in need of updating; they have for years. That's exactly why we have purchased hundreds of king sized beds, chairs, dressers, soft goods and rather nice flat screen TVs. Plus, we have increased our in house maintenance team and they are hard at work painting, replacing ceiling tiles and so much more.

So, we are excited about the positive changes coming to the Gettysburg Eisenhower Hotel and we're confident you will love our new look and refined level of guest service.

Again, we appreciate your continued business, your TripAdvisor comments and the opportunity to provide a complete and proper response.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Eisenhower Hotel and Conference Center during the Remembrance Day Weekend as part of a group. Our group has used the Eisenhower loyally for at least 2 decades as its headquarters for meetings and a Civil War Ball. This year the hotel was taken over by new management, which tried to void the legally binding contract we had with the previous management. The rate we had agreed to was a group rate of $99 and the new management sought to raise the charge to $169. The hotel is clean but in great need of repairs and the rate we had been charged in the past was reasonable for the conditions. The kind of issues that exist in the hotel include a heating system in one section that is not regulated in a manner that makes all the rooms comfortable, another problem that exist are bent ceiling tiles, slow and noisy elevators, old furniture and general aged plumbing and amenities. The quality of the breakfast meal we had for our morning meeting was not up to the standards observed in the past. The hotel is supposedly making some improvements such as new furniture, but will need much more work to bring it up to the standards of even a Hilton Garden Inn or Marriot property of similar quality. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at the price they are now asking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mark D;

We appreciate the continued support and the business your group has entrusted with the Eisenhower Hotel over the past many years. Hopefully, we will be able to continue to be of service to you and your fellow Battlefield rein-actors.

Honestly, your review shocked many of us at the Eisenhower Hotel; we find it both incorrect and misleading. The facts are that we did honor the rate your group claimed to have for 2012 and had a 2013 contract from the prior management team been produced, this would have been honored as well.

However, since no written contract was provided, we quickly developed a new proposal for your 2013 gathering. True, our rates have increased, but they are well warranted, long overdue and extremely fair for the dates you have requested.

The Eisenhower Hotel has embarked on a renovation program which reflects significant improvements, upgrades and increased guest services. Some items are already in place, with much more scheduled for early 2013.

We invite you sign the new contract provided or discuss its terms and conditions with our sales team or general manager. But most importantly, we invite everyone to join us next year and enjoy the new look, feel and service standards we have in store for our guests at the Gettysburg Eisenhower Hotel.

Again, we appreciate your business and the opportunity TripAdvisor provides for all sides to voice their positions.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Bottom-line up front: Don't stay here. The Eisenhower looks like a hotel that was built and decorated in the early 80s and never updated or maintained since. Stains everywhere. Hallways that smell like unwashed bodies. Dark places where lights are off or don't work throughout the building. Peeling wall paper. Mysterious rolls and bumps in the carpet. Water stains and visible collapses in the ceiling. Basic cable. Airport like prices in the little store and bar (the running joke was everything cost ten dollars, regardless of what you bought). I couldn't tell you about the food in the restaurant because it never opened during the week we were there. I never could find the WiFi and had to put down a $25 deposit for a CAT5 cable (interwebs cable). The staff is nice but it's like the waiter keeping your drinks filled on the Titanic. Regardless you end up miserable.

Room Tip: Choose one not in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear 8BitWarrior,

Well, it appears that we let you down on your recent visit to Gettysburg and for this we are sorry. But, please know that we consider your review and comments very seriously and we are working on improving our guests’ experiences.

Let me first start by saying that we have recently begun many new housekeeping and maintenance programs that will address the challenges your review discussed. And while your experience was less than stellar, we are making great strides every week.

In regard to your comment about onsite dining, please note that our main restaurant has recently been on reduced hours, but our lounge and deli have been open and both are serving our guests. However, your comment is appreciated and we will improve the signage to better inform our guests of these options.

We have many new items planned for late 2012 and early 2013, so I am confident you will see positive changes throughout the hotel. This really is exciting stuff!

We do appreciate your review and hope that you will come visit us again.

Thanks.

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had an amazing experience at the Eisenhower II portion of the Eisenhower hotel and conference center, as it hosted our USMC Birthday ball on 1 Nov 2012. Joe, Tina, Barb and our Maitre D' Julie made a very hectic event simple and elogant. Facility is recently under new management and boy can you tell as the changes that were made over the 30 days prior to the event were nothing short of amazing! over the next year the facility will only improve more and I look forward to working with the staff on another event in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Jake R.

Thank you for your service to our country, your selection of the Gettysburg Eisenhower Hotel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. All are truly appreciated!

Your review was wonderful to read, not only because the USMC had an "amazing experience at the Eisenhower", but because our new team stayed focused and helped make "a very hectic event simple and elegant". So, thanks.

We were honored to provide the USMC with the professional hospitality and culinary talents to deliver an event that you called "nothing short of amazing". I know that Joe, Tina, Barb and Julie were proud to be of service to your group and we look forward to your return next year.

Thanks for sharing your comments and telling the world about your "amazing experience" at the Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here two nights mid-week for an off-site business retreat last month. The front desk staff was welcoming and all other staff (food service and housekeeping) were friendly. The facility was very nice and the meeting room and guest room accommodations were wonderful. The guest rooms were surprisingly large and well appointed complete with mini-fridge and microwave. There was a nice sitting area with sofa and chair, a desk area, and two queen beds. My bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Just be sure to bring your own hair dryer, as one was not provided. The hotel wi-fi worked well in both the guest rooms and meeting room. The catered buffet breakfast and lunches (these were pre-arranged as a part of our conference package) were very good. This hotel is just a short drive from the battlefield and downtown area and the large expansive grounds were beautiful with the autumn foliage. I highly recommend this facility!

Room Tip: Mid-week is apparently a slow time for the hotel, because our group and maybe two others were the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Tina C;

Thanks for telling the world about the "wonderful conference” you recently experienced at the Gettysburg Eisenhower Hotel.

We also appreciate your gracious comments about our “surprisingly large and well appointed” clean rooms and how our staff was “welcoming” and “friendly. This is great to read, so thanks!

We have been making some exciting improvements to our guest service standards along with in depth staff training. It appears from your review that these steps are showing through!

Many groups select the Gettysburg Eisenhower for off-site business retreats due to our expansive conference facilities, our prime location and free shuttle to many attractions. Plus, I am sure our indoor pool, free WIFI and 150+ acre resort like grounds helps too.

Perhaps your stunning review will help attract others to meet here as well. Honestly, I loved when you wrote “I highly recommend this facility!

Anyway, thanks again for your stellar review and for taking the time to tell the world about the Gettysburg Eisenhower Hotel and the successful meeting we hosted for your group!

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Eisenhower II (newer building) for an overnight trip to Gettysburg. We stayed in a 2 Queen bed room in the 500s. The room was a lot larger than I had expected and i was plesantly surprised to see a mini fridge and microwave. The room also had a pullout couch, you could have easily fit 4-6 ppl comfortably. The beds were comfortable, room was clean, and there were no complaints about the shower. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnsOfDistinction, Manager at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear OlsenkdNY

I want to thank you for selecting the Eisenhower Hotel and for posting your gracious review about your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate both!

I am pleased that you found our "beds were comfortable" plus your "room was clean, and there were no complaints” We are working hard to exceed our guest’s expectations and it seems that we took great care of you!

But honestly, my favorite part of your review is your comment saying that you “Would definitely stay here again"'. This tells me that we have done our job and done it well.

So thanks again for staying with us; please come back again soon and see some of the exciting changes our new management team has planned for the Eisenhower Hotel.

Thanks

DRH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. Check-in is at 3pm. Check-out is 11am. Cancellation Policy: 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.