We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eisenhower Inn worth a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eisenhower Inn worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This was my second stay within three weeks at this hotel; both were positive and this is a combined review.

The first stay was in the middle of October for three nights in the older section- Eisenhower I. As previously mentioned in other reviews, the older, original section is outdated and even a little rough around the edges, the rooms are smaller and without a fridge or microwave. However my room was clean and I had a good experience with no problems. My second stay was Halloween weekend for three nights as well, this time in Eisenhower II. My room was clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave; the experience was also good. I didn't use the pool, restaurant or lounge, but my interaction with the front desk went well and check-in and check-out were painless.

I noticed most of the positive reviews (average-excellent) were within the last year and a half, which is about as far as I feel the need to go back. The rates are cheaper and with the location being about five miles from the center of town, there is probably a better chance for room availability as many people probably look for the close in places first.

All in all, for my money, I received a clean, functional room at a good price, in a good location which made for an overall enjoyable visit to Gettysburg. I will stay at the Eisenhower Inn again during future visits to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: Rooms in Eisenhower II, the newer building, are more modern and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Gettysburg. We often offer specials through Email to past customers who sign up on our web site, and we'd encourage you to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    52
    71
    58
    65
See reviews for
69
45
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg pa.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stay at the Eisenhower several times per year this Hotel has very large rooms but you have to make sure you get the new part of the building which is the Eisenhower 2 . the main part is a little older and the rooms are smaller but you are right next to the pool. The Eisenhower is a few miles outside of town but is close to the battlefields. I think it is great because you don't have to deal with the traffic. There has been other reviews saying that the staff isn't pleasant but we have never had a problem with them they have all ways were very polite. Yes I would recommend the Eisenhower to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms in the Eisenhower 2 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for your nice comments. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to the Gettysburg area. Many travelers do not know how close we are to the Third Day Battlefield, so we appreciate you mentioning that fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I'm honestly not that picky, but this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Musty smell was bad enough that we seriously considered not eating dinner rather than eating our pizza in that room. Chairs were gross - stained and tattered. Check in took forever. 2 lightbulbs not working were addressed quickly but never did receive the hair conditioner that receptionist said would be right there. People swimming and loud until 10:30 pm in the pool right outside our room. Overall just old and dirty and smelly room. (lobby was nice enough) Worst was that we paid $130. Would have been ok for $40

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for staying with us. On behalf of everyone here, we do apologize that.you weren't happy with your stay here. I'm relaying your specific comments to our Housekeeping Manager and our General Manager so they're aware that we didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This hotel is definitely showing its age. Positives: large room, microwave & refrigerator, desk, a/c worked, comfortable bed, very nice staff. Cons: no wireless internet in room (wired available; bring your own cable); deli closes at 8 pm, restaurant at 9 pm; foods not great; room could be cleaner. Conference facilities: large room, staff very accommodating, food not great, wireless access spotty, many glasses not clean, very good price.

Room Tip: room with 2 queens also has a sofa bed and is larger than room with 1 king
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thanks for staying with us and for giving us your impressions. We appreciate your business, and understand the concerns you raised. We hope you'll consider us again when your return to the Gettysburg area. There are a lot of fun Fall activities here that you might enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We just had a weekend retreat for 68 ladies at the Eisenhower hotel. The hotel is a great place to visit and very close to many ammenities. You can tour the historical area, shop the nearby outlets or just enjoy the peace and quiet at the hotel and surroundings. The staff could not be more accomadationg and made sure all our needs were met. Everyone we worked with were not only patient but welcoming and gracious. This is our second time at Eisenhower and it will not be the last.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent Retreat here at our Conference Center. Our staff and management enjoy seeing guests enjoying themselves and taking advantage of all that Gettysburg has to offer. When you plan your next church retreat, we'd love to once again be your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiltonsville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

So, as a kid do you remember the great indoor hotels that had rooms directly accessing the pool. This is one of them, I loved this place as a kid and now as a parent. Is it perfect? NO, but the memories that we make here as a family are priceless. Accomodations are reasonable for the area and what this place offers. Yes, it could use some updating, but so can most of our homes that we love. Why must everything be perfect? I see in the reviews so much complaining. The beds are comfortable, it is clean and mostly the staff meet your needs. Like anywhere, not every employee is an employer's dream come true. Our experiences have been good here. Sliding glass doors to an indoor pool and large hot tub. It is so nice. I remember those great rooms that adjoined pools as a kid. Now everywhere has the non descrip indoor pool, they are tiny and no character. This pool is neat in design and the indoor oasis is GREAT. You may not all be thrilled, but ask your kids, they are. I am as a parent, ordered Tommy's pizza delivered, bottle of wine and some pop. We all had a wonderful time. Thank you staff and management. This is a nice property, give them a try.

Room Tip: Inside 1st floor pool, you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for choosing us when you visited the town. The cabana style rooms like the one you stayed in are our most popular for many of the reasons you mentioned. It sounds like a fun family trip and we're happy to be a small part of that. Ohio isn't far away, so we hope you and your family will return soon. You can visit our website to find out more about what's going on in town and throughout Adams County, or sign up for our email alerts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Check in and check out was a snap, beds were comfortable, cleaner than my house, and beds were comfy. I loved the shower, hot and lots of water. Location good. It appeared to be a large resort - but we were only staying one night and got there late and left early. Price was right. Only thing that wasn't real good is that the plubing was loud when the neighbor showered.
Ate at a good restaurant through restaurant.com in a shoping center out on York st called Garibaldi's Restaurante.

Room Tip: it was fine being on the ground floor - no outside noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip. I'll relay all of your comments to our staff and management. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed Garabaldi's restaurant. They are a very popular venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg
Eisenhower Inn
Eisenhower Hotel
Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.