We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Northern Charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel several times in the past for a yearly business event, the hotel is slightly dated but certainly acceptable. The staff at the Eisenhower brings to mind President Kennedy's famous description of Washington DC: it has all the best of Northern charm and Southern efficiency! To say the Eisenhower's staff is brisk is putting it nicely. Others might say unnecessarily rude and unhelpful but the job gets done.
For our latest stay our room was in the old original building, facing the back parking lot. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable with lots of pillows, everything was very clean.
We had room service for dinner and the food was old school tasty (yum!)--salads with blue cheese dressing, pasta alfredo and cheeseburgers with swiss, mushrooms and grilled onions.
While we were there the VFW was having a gathering in the hotel and it was packed with attendees. While we respect and appreciate the service of these veterans of our armed forces, we were awakened at 2 a.m. and kept awake till 4 by revellers in the back parking lot, right outside our window, after the hotel bar closed. One woman kept hooting and hollaring so loud she could be heard over the air conditioning unit in our room.
Thankfully after 4 the parking lot party broke up. It does seem like the management should have been aware of the noise level and its disturbance to other guests. The VFW had been there all week though so maybe management felt the folks deserved one last party before departure. Unbelievably, they were all gone before 10 the next morning! Tough stuff.
All in all a good stay, we were very comfortable in our room, which included a flat screen tv, a task desk, seating area with two arm chairs and plenty of lamp lighting. A fridge/micro should be added to each room tho, this is becoming standard in almost all hotel rooms.
In spite of a few complaints, we'll be back next year.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    58
    74
    61
    67
See reviews for
74
48
16
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The A/C in our 1st room didn't work plus the room was very dusty. Second room was also very dusty. Both A/C units were plugged with dust.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

My son had a soccer tournament in the area and as not only a parent but the " team manager", I was also responsible for our accomodations. It is hard to please everyone so its important to at least please most...and I must say all parents (28) were very pleased with the family frendly atmosphere..one unanimous complaint. Prices at the on site deli was
too high. A definite second trip if we are there next year for another tounament.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Booked our wedding at the Eisenhower Hotel and after arriving for our first night, I decided to do a little research on the hotel, just because I noticed some weird things like the one lobby was dark and no one was at the desk. Reviews looked REALLY bad but I did not have any problems. The Wedding Coordinator for the hotel was amazing and very accommodating. We were located in Tower II and I asked that all of my block also be in Tower II and the coordinator moved everyone over to these rooms. I had some friends stay in Tower I and the room difference in overall appearance was HUGE, but still live able. Restaurant food was amazing and wedding food was as well. This place has a lot of potential!! Beds SUPER Soft, cleaning staff was fast, any request for new light bulbs/toilet problems were dealt with within 10 minutes. Family did use the pool and they loved it. The Hot tub was more like bathwater from what I was told. Overall a great hotel and it has a lot of potential. Free Internet!

Room Tip: Tower II has the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

For the price, this hotel wasn't really worth the money. First off, we were there as part of a soccer tournament for Memorial Day weekend, and thought the rate was a little costly for the venue. That was made even more obvious, when parents began calling individually and got cheaper rates through AAA.

We stayed in the older building, although retro-outdated (in DESPERATE need of upgrades), was clean. The beds were awful and I could barely move my neck each morning. If they upgraded the mattresses perhaps it would have been better. The A/C was loud. Noise level was not too bad (we faced the pool) since the A/C muffled the noise.

The front desk staff was overwhelmed since the hotel was pushed to capacity. We were told that the majority of the staff were hired the days before in anticipation for the tournament. Well, it showed. There was no hospitality, no smiling, nothing. No "have a good day..." As a matter of fact, when we checked out, there was no, "How was your stay?" There was a grumpy comment, "you're all done."

It took 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee to go at the deli, because the two lone workers served each customer.

We had a tournament dinner catered by the hotel. The food there was pretty decent and well-organized.

Fitness center is not really a fitness center.

Overall, I wouldn't seek this hotel out for a leisurely stay, but it suited our needs at the time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We are neither rejecting nor recommending this property. It is right on the line. With a couple of changes we would recommend it however.

Pros: Conveniently located close to the battlefields, but away from the strip centers and tourist traps. Fairly clean. Price was OK, but too high for what you get. Indoor pool was clean and a big hit with the kids.

Cons: This property can best be defined as dated. It seems like it was bought it 25 years ago and maintained perfectly, but not a penny has been spent to update or buy anything new, including the towels. For example, the in-room refrigerator was (literally) the kind that you can get at Walmart that plug into your car cigarette lighter to use on camping trips. It may have been manufactured by Coleman. There was an adapter that the allowed the cigarette lighter cord to plug into the wall.

But with a little investment this property could easily flip over to one of the best values out there. Or, if the price were lower, the issues we have identified would be acceptable. We paid about $90 per night including taxes. For what we got, $65 per night was about right. We were in the old part. The newer part may be just fine and worth $90 per night. Not sure.

Room Tip: Insist on the newer part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelElliott, Director of Sales at Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Gettysburg, and thank you for your comments. We continue to work to upgrade the hotel's rooms and public spaces, and hope that you'll notice the improvements if you choose to stay with us on a subsequent trip. We appreciate your business, and invite you to return on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Eisenhower Inn & Conference Center offered a great location for our mini-vacation. The price was great and the value for the price was beyond our expectations. The pool was warm, clean. Our room was great; comfortable bed etc. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful. We will return in the future as we have been to Gettysburg many times and love the area. We will book our room at the Eisenhower

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2634 Emmitsburg Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eisenhower is a unique resort with taste, style, and a staff proud of it's tradition of friendly attentive service. It's the hotel that guests remember with pleasure and return to again and again. Make The Eisenhower your Gettysburg Address and you're only minutes from the Historic Gettysburg National Military Park, golf, and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eisenhower Inn And Conference Center
Eisenhower Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eisenhower Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.