We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse Soldier

The Horse Soldier
219 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-0347
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 37 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Antique Shops
Attraction Details
Carver, Massachussetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a retail store/museum where the artifacts are for sale!
Lots of weaponry, bottles, uniforms, memorabilia ets. Friendly knowledgable staff. Owned by local folks. A real treat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing! 150+ year old muskets, rifles, artifacts all for sale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I cannot describe how this is an amazing 'hands on' museum. The range of items start from the early 1800's to Korean conflict and some more recent US armed forces clothing. Everything is on sale which in itself is mind boggling. The prices are reasonable too considering the more rare items - anything that is confederate I.e. You can handle 150+ year old muskets, rifles swords etc. no sales people to bother you. Amazing selection of all types of hand guns, swords & bayonets(!) and rifle muskets. Many where in battle and very very few repro's (like almost all other places in Gettysburg) all original issue. if you are any kind of history (also currency, paintings, books, photographs, medals, uniforms etc.) & weapon buff, you will be very hard to break away from this 'store' there is so much to take in. I cannot recommend this store more highly it is deservedly #2 behind the battlefield itself. A must see & it's free!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is well worth a visit. A great museum, with no admission, as well as a store (most of the artifacts can be purchased). Many artifacts can be purchased for a dollar or two (bullets, buttons, etc.) or you can spend thousands for rifles, uniforms, etc. Excellent way to spend some time, you might even learn a few things along the way.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renville, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We enjoyed looking around at all the artifacts. Our boys liked looking at all the guns and swords. A store that is a great museum. Glad we stopped.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An absolute must if you go to Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was looking for a place to buy a real relic of Gettysburg and saw this place. I was in shock at all the history available for sale. It was like being a kid in a candy shop. I absolutely loved it and bought a nice gunpowder horn from the war. I highly recommend this shop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse Soldier also viewed

 

Been to The Horse Soldier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horse Soldier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.