We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sachs Covered Bridge

Sachs Covered Bridge
Waterworks Road (TR 509/TR 405), Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-6274
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Found It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a beautiful bridge, but its a little hard to find. After looking for it, I said turn down this road and we'll make a U turn and low and behold there it was.

Its not far off the battlefield, so go exploring.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    65
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I love covered bridges, so I enjoyed this. You hear all the rumors about the bridge being haunted, so I was hoping to see a ghost or feel a presence or something out of the ordinary, but did not. I didn't expect to, so I wasn't surprised. You cannot cross the bridge, so regardless which side you come from, you must turn around to go back. If you are using a navigation system, it can be difficult to find.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used on-star to get us to the road the bridge was located on from the battlefield. It was easy to find once we got to the road. It was worth the stop as it is a beautifully restored covered bridge that was as much a part of the history as the battlefield.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franktown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

on a gorgeous autumn day, the bridge was gorgeous. be sure to walk across it and along the road a bit and also walk the path before crossing the bridge. it's beautiful back there

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Ohio, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If your a ghost hunter you'll want to go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You can only visit this place from dawn to dusk. If you want to get in here after dark you have to go on the extreme ghost hunt available in town at the shops. The cost is $30.00 per person for that hunt and they provide you with the equipment needed to do the investigation. If you want to see pictures of what they got there go to Mark Nesbits Ghost of Gettysburg tours and look on the walls. Beautiful bridge to go see though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachs Covered Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sachs Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachs Covered Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.