We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bridge, supposed ghosts, good history!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sachs Covered Bridge

Sachs Covered Bridge
Waterworks Road (TR 509/TR 405), Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-6274
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
McKnightstown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful bridge, supposed ghosts, good history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Go for the scenery, stay for the history, take the ghosts with a grain of salt. Walk through the bridge, follow the road and see the Sauck home where the original owners lived. If only we could keep the graffiti to a nonexistence.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    65
    22
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Must to Stop by an Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just a beautiful bridge with History great for pictures. Only less than 8 minutes from the main attractions, just drive over, park to the side of the bridge, make sure you walk through the bridge. If you're with someone else have them take your photo from outside the bridge while you're poking your head out from it. :) There's a plaque there also giving the history on the bridge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We visit Sachs Bridge every time we are in Gettysburg, during the day and night. It is a very beautiful and peaceful location where we usually sit for hours....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful in the daytime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This bridge is usually packed with visitors at night trying to do some ghostly investigations (including myself). But be sure to visit this bridge during the day. It is so beautiful and peaceful there, you can carefully cross the dam to the other side of the water and walk around there. It is a hidden gem in Gettysburg.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Every time we go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This bridge is so wonderful. Every single time we go to Gettysburg we wind up here for hours. For the Paranormal lovers this is a terrific hotspot with so many tales and experiences. The Historical significance is something you want to learn about as it isn't on any historical tours that I know of.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachs Covered Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sachs Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachs Covered Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.