We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sachs Covered Bridge

Sachs Covered Bridge
Waterworks Road (TR 509/TR 405), Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-6274
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 63 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is one of my favorite places in Gettysburg. Always so beautiful and serene. It is so hard to believe there was so much agony and death here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    71
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, NC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Midnight the day after a full moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went to Sachs Bridge this past Tuesday night. Hadn't planned to go so late but by the time we checked into The Lodges at Gettysburg and got directions, it was past midnight when we arrived at the bridge. Thankfully it had been a full moon the night before and that helped a little because it is dark there, as in very dark, no lights at all. My family of 5 were the only living beings there but looking at our photos once we returned home yesterday we weren't truly alone. Quite a few photos had orbs. The next morning we ventured back and walked the paths across and around the bridge. I definitely recommend going both at night and in the day for two very different experiences.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Eerie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spent some time after hours here, definitely felt the presence of another realm of existence. Some more obnoxious people visited too, hiding their uneasiness with this feeling behind a mask of childish playfulness. A check on the things to do/place to visit while here list.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ghostly encounter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is so spooky. I actually think that I had a ghostly encounter. I was on the bridge, it was dark, and someone (or thing) blew cigar smoke in my face. You have to check it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Checking for Ghosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a little hard to find, as it's not correctly listed in Google Maps or MapQuest. The bridge itself was restored after a 1996 flood pushed it off its piers. The workers did an excellent job. If you are a fan of covered bridge architecture, this bridge is awesome. It is said that the bridge is haunted. I took several pictures in hopes of catching a ghost, but I guess they don't come out on hot summer days. My son, who is Military, was standing on the bridge and turned to talk to my wife, who he thought was next to him, but she wasn't there and no one else was either. So I guess you could call that an "experience", but there was no proof of any spirits that we could find.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sachs Covered Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Sachs Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachs Covered Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.