We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midnight the day after a full moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sachs Covered Bridge

Sachs Covered Bridge
Waterworks Road (TR 509/TR 405), Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-334-6274
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 63 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mooresville, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Midnight the day after a full moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went to Sachs Bridge this past Tuesday night. Hadn't planned to go so late but by the time we checked into The Lodges at Gettysburg and got directions, it was past midnight when we arrived at the bridge. Thankfully it had been a full moon the night before and that helped a little because it is dark there, as in very dark, no lights at all. My family of 5 were the only living beings there but looking at our photos once we returned home yesterday we weren't truly alone. Quite a few photos had orbs. The next morning we ventured back and walked the paths across and around the bridge. I definitely recommend going both at night and in the day for two very different experiences.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    85
    28
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eerie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Spent some time after hours here, definitely felt the presence of another realm of existence. Some more obnoxious people visited too, hiding their uneasiness with this feeling behind a mask of childish playfulness. A check on the things to do/place to visit while here list.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ghostly encounter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is so spooky. I actually think that I had a ghostly encounter. I was on the bridge, it was dark, and someone (or thing) blew cigar smoke in my face. You have to check it out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Checking for Ghosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was a little hard to find, as it's not correctly listed in Google Maps or MapQuest. The bridge itself was restored after a 1996 flood pushed it off its piers. The workers did an excellent job. If you are a fan of covered bridge architecture, this bridge is awesome. It is said that the bridge is haunted. I took several pictures in hopes of catching a ghost, but I guess they don't come out on hot summer days. My son, who is Military, was standing on the bridge and turned to talk to my wife, who he thought was next to him, but she wasn't there and no one else was either. So I guess you could call that an "experience", but there was no proof of any spirits that we could find.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“not alot to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Took a trip to see the famous Sachs birdge. It is acessable to everyone which is nice, but it is just kind of there. Graffiti covers some of the bridge which is kind of a bummer. It's a good picture opportunity.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sachs Covered Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sachs Covered Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.