We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tillie Pierce House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tillie Pierce House Inn to your Saves list
Tillie Pierce House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   301 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Charles Town, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very friendly and informative personnell, clean and quiet location, even though it is right in town. They provide what they call a continental breakfast, whis is fine for me since I don't really eat much in the morning, but they still provide plenty to choose from and take the time to ask if you have any food allergies or special dietary needs. You get more than what you pay for here, and the rates are very reasonable when compared to the other bed and breakfasts nearby. The only disappointment is that we didn't see any ghosts- lol.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    14
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
13
37
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Gettysburg is known for its history and its ghosts. And if you're looking for the real deal, there's a good chance you'll find both at the Tillie Pierce House. On the first night, my wife and I really were actually touched by what the staff claim are playful child spirits. Our bed coverings were also removed by unseen hands at about 2:00 AM...and three other guests told us they had the same experience. Go in with an open mind. You might be surprised.

The staff was very friendly and the place was clean. The continental breakfast was nothing amazing, but it was tasty and quite filling. Shopping, restaurants and some of the sites are well within walking distance. Overall, it's my opinion that a stay at the Tillie Pierce house is well worth the money. And you might come home with more than the usual "what-I-did-on-my-vacation" story.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great location (w/in walking distance of historic downtown and shopping, restaurants), friendly and helpful staff, super clean. Bedroom was small, but nice size private bath. Breakfast was low point - could have gotten same continental fare at any chain hotel. Nothing homemade. But, very happy with stay overall. Parking behind building was a plus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

All were very helpful during our two day stay. My wife and I stayed in the Tillie Pierce bedroom.
We can both tell you "Yes" spirits do exist in this B&B. During an EVP session a question was asked in reference to where Tillie assisted with the wounded?
A male voice answered with one word,"WEIKERT". Yes that is the location where Tillie did assist the surgeons!
We also had our covers pulled off our bed at night. Actually we found this more amusing than scary.
Breakfast was good and our hostess was great. Location is in the heart of Gettysburg and all shopping and restaurants are totally accessible.
We would stay again.
Have fun if you choose this B&B. You'll also enjoy the motif. It feels as if you're in that time in history!
Thanks Tillie Tom and Gloria Mroz

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We recently spent a night at the Tillie Pierce House in the Blue room. The House/B&B has been under new ownership for almost a year. We felt very welcomed from the moment we arrived including being given a tour and historical overview of the home. We were welcome to explore the unoccupied rooms of the home and do a paranormal investigation within guidelines. While the B&B is quite suitable as it is, the new owners are gradually upgrading. It looks like they will put a gas fireplace in the breakfast room and they plan to put in a bookstore/souvenir store. We enjoyed a pleasant stay in our room, which included a comfy bed, tv & wifi, hardwood floors, the original fireplace bricking, and a nice hot shower. We had a nice continental-styled breakfast in the morning, choosing to have bagels, hard boiled egg, coffee and OJ; cold and hot cereals, fresh fruit, and pastries were also among the choices as well. The House is located in the heart of the historic district. The Shriver house is next door and I would recommend a visit there. We look forward to a return stay at the House. It looks like it will only get better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have never stayed at a B & B, and an active one ;). The staff very helpful me and my husband have never been to this location before, they told us where shops, food and entertainment were located at. From the bed, to the tv room, to the bathroom and to the awesome breakfast. Friendly, clean and relaxing place to be. I would stay over and over again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite room awesome, we couldn't ask for a better sleep and relaxing spot. All o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed at Tillie Pierce the entire weekend. The place is excellent, beds are comfortable, & it's in the middle of all the stores and shops in Gettysburg so it's just a short walk.the staff here is very accommodating and the breakfast is awesome! If your staying in Gettysburg this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tillie Pierce House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tillie Pierce House Inn

Address: 301 Baltimore Street, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tillie Pierce House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and historic Inn, located in the heart of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. All accommodations have their own modern bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Tillie Pierce House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tillie Pierce House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.