We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr. G's Ice Cream

Mr. G's Ice Cream
404 Baltimore St., Gettysburg, PA 17325
717 334-7600
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 114 restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mr. G's Ice Cream is located in the historic John Winebrenner house in Gettysburg Pennsylvania. Battle scarred by bullets on the south side of the building and reportedly haunted by spirits of the past, Mr. G's offers delicious homemade and soft serve ice cream. Stop in and try one of our homemade waffle cones and enjoy the ambience of this historic Gettysburg building
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best ice cream around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Great ice cream for a great price in a nice atmosphere. The waffle cones are also worth mentioning.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    260
    63
    18
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best ice cream and history lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I had ice cream at Mr. G's. When we got our ice, we went outside to enjoy it. As we sat and ate, I noticed a well. As I went over to look at it, the owner, Mr. G told me how when he bought the building, they did a lot of remodeling. When a piece of granite was moved outside, they discovered a well that had been sealed up since the civil war. He also showed us a cross section of a tree that he acquired from a friend. When the tree was cut, he discovered a bullet from the civil war. What an opportunity to learn. We stopped for delicious ice cream and got and also got a history lesson.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomeroy, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Gettysburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Came here recently on a trip to Gettysburg, much better than the other ice cream shops around!
The staff is so friendly and the ice cream is great. The building is very historic itself having been there during the civil war. You can still see the bullet holes in the brick and shutters.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great ice cream in Gettysburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

After our dinner, our waitress recommended mr g's ice cream. She said there was no competition, and the it was the best and hottest place in town. She Was right! The ice cream was so delicious, and it was worth every penny. I recommend this ice cream place for anyone who likes a good scoop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We loved visiting Mr. G's after dinner on several occasions during out visit to Gettysburg. The owner took the time to give some history on the building and tell us some wonderful sotries. The ice cream is amazing as well!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. G's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Mr. G's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr. G's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.