We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As far as Visitors Center's go this one is perfectly fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Railroad Station Museum

Gettysburg Railroad Station Museum
35 Carlisle Street, Gettysburg, PA
1-800-337-5015
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 63 things to do in Gettysburg
Attraction details
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“As far as Visitors Center's go this one is perfectly fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff is very helpful, but there is not much to see there on display. The bathrooms are in another building next door at the relatively new transit center where you can ride one of the tourist buses. They have pamphlets and maps of downtown Gettysburg. Only drawback is finding the parking for this place. It's really easy to miss and I ended up driving around the block once before I figured it out. The entrance to the parking is before you get to the visitors center (if driving north) so by the time you have figured out where the visitor's center is, you have already passed the parking. I recommend parking in the parking deck nearby (probably the only parking deck in town). It was 75 cents an hour for parking and just take the free tourist bus to anywhere in town that you want to go. The tourist bus system is nice, I rode the complete red line just to see everything first.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    24
    19
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Place for information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the place to stop if you need information on Gettysburg. It will only take you a few minutes to look at what they have on display. The staff is friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carroll maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a good place to start in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The train station is free and is also the Gettysburg information center. A great place to start if you’re visiting the Gettysburg area for lodging, restaurants and attraction information. The staff is very knowledgeable and helpful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

nice, but not a lot to see. about 5 or 6 exhibits. more cool to see the old building...can walk through it in about 10 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The staff gets 5 stars from me.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, it's not very exciting. The extremely friendly & helpful staff that day made it worth the stop. Also, looking back we captured some really nice pictures. This is not for everyone but I'm sure some history buffs or train lovers would enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Railroad Station Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Railroad Station Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Railroad Station Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.