We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gettysburg Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at White Oak

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gettysburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at White Oak
Save
You added The Inn at White Oak to your Saves list
1 White Oak Trail, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somerset, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gettysburg Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our trip to Gettysburg was greatly enhanced by our stay at the Inn at White Oak. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were fabulous. The view from our room (and bathroom) was second to none. Falling asleep watching the fireflies in the trees was more than magical.
The only thing better than the room was the food! Words can not describe the quality and taste of these decadent breakfasts.
But the best part of all was the friendly and excellent service provided by Jillian and Sam and Jeannie and "Dad". Always ready with a smile and a sincere desire to help any way they could to make our stay perfect. And it was that. Perfect.
My only regret was that our site seeing kept us out too late to enjoy the magnificent pool. I wish we had more time to enjoy that!
I would recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking for a romantic, quiet, lovely place to stay while visiting Gettysburg.

Green Features: I liked the fact that this is a green facility and they happily recycled our paper and plastic items as we were leaving.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
171
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed there in June, our room had a wonderful view overlooking the patio and lake. The bed was very comfortable and my wife loved having to climb up steps into it! Breakfast was a major event and keep us full throughout the day. The property includes a jogging trail around the perimeter and offered views of Gettysburg town as you ran. We made us of the small, four seater cinema, a rather unusual feature but much appreciated. The only minor point for us was the distance from town forced us to drive to dinner every evening rather than walk. The owners were extremely helpful and arranged for a battlefield guide to met us at the Inn one morning and added the fee to our bill. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly. The inn and grounds are beautiful. The first night we stayed in the Colonels room. I loved this room! Especially that it had 2 tvs and a separate sitting room. If a person wants to watch tv and the other does not you can close the door. Or, if you want to watch two different shows it is great. The only complaint was my husband really did not like the soft bed. The second night we were in the Generals room that has a lovely view. We really enjoyed the heated indoor pool. So splurge a little and take a visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The inn is beautiful and serene, and owners Jillian and Sam couldn't be more pleasant. Our one night stay was just not enough so we will definitely be back to enjoy the their hospitality again, the wonderful breakfast, and beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Inn is located in a very private and serene 33 wooded acres with ponds and wonderful landscape. We stayed for three nights in the General Quarters which provided a nice view of ponds as well a seating area both screened and open. It was wonderful to awaken each morning to the singing birds. Jillian and Sam and parents were quite attentive to our dietary requirements as well and we both had a wonderful massage in the beautiful spa. The home is expertly decorated with attention to color and placement. We strongly recommend this as the location to stay in the Gettysburg area. Very restful!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful time my husband, I, and our best friends had at the Inn. Our stay was so pleasant and relaxing, we cannot wait to go back! We truly felt pampered and spoiled during our stay and highly recommend it to anyone. Thank you for sharing your wonderful hospitality, Jill and Sam.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were impressed by the amazing inn and the attention to detail. Slept like a baby. Wonderful experience, highly recommend it. Wish we had stayed longer.
I am gluten intolerant and Jillian made me gluten free cinnamon Belgian waffles. They were amazing. The breakfast was superb and the company was friendly and warm. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at White Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at White Oak

Address: 1 White Oak Trail, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn and Spa at White Oak is the premier Gettysburg address! Set on 33 private acres, this grand Gettysburg Inn and full-service Spa with a heated, indoor swimming pool, is surrounded by history and luxury! The ultimate in tranquility and romance, The Inn at White Oak is just minutes from downtown Lincoln Square, Gettysburg College and all of the area's attractions! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at White Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.