We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE waste of money!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
1 review
“HUGE waste of money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here one weekend night in early February. We thought it would be a nice end to our evening from shopping at the outlets. Boy were we wrong! We stayed in the Kingsize room wiith the spa tub. Everything in the room was so outdated it was ridiculous. A lumpy mattress and a 27 inch TV that looked like it was from the 80's were part of what we got for $169 a night! What a letdown. The staff was nice enough and the breakfast looked good enough the next morning but we didnt stay to enjoy it. We were so sore from sleeping on the matress the night before we just wanted to get home ASAP so we could finally relax. I dont know who is writing these good reviews on this site but potential customers need to see these rooms in person before wasting so much money. albare08@yahoo.com

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly or you can reach us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    123
    26
    24
    15
See reviews for
154
85
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York, USA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family was passing through Gettysburg on our way to Virginia, decided to stop for the night. So we checked Trip Advisor and decided between this or comfort suites. This place had stellar reviews and was cheaper, so it seemed like a no brainer. We've had decent luck using the Trip Advisor reviews to find good quality places and reasonable prices. This hotel is *not* one of them. we checked in around 8 PM, the hotel seemed pretty busy for a cold february night and quite loud - but oh well, we needed sleep. I went to get the bags and my wife+kids went to the room to get settled. When I just got to the lobby with the bags, they were downstairs - kids in tears - moving to another room. What was going on???? Apparently there was a large fight in the hallway, punching, brawling you name it. My wife was very worried about her and the kids safety so she went to the front desk - the kid basically said, yeah this is crazy been like this all day - some family reunion. Really??? was this UFC or something? so we get to the new room, only to be greeted with large white stains on the bed comforters - uggh. so we slept without them - or tried to, but large glaring lights from outside the hotel flooded the room. it was not possible to sleep with so much light pollution. You couldn't pay me to stay here again - I just hope the entire town of Gettysburg isn't tainted by this hotel for my family, because I would like to go back sometime and visit the historic aspects of the city - rather than just passing through. I wish I could give this hotel zero stars, get all of my money back, and erase this experience from my mind.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
We are very sorry about the experience you had at our hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to post this review so that we can address the issues with our staff and improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent one night at the Country Inn and Suites last March after taking our kids snow tubing for the day. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The kids loved getting to swim in the dead of winter and the cookies at the check-in desk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I only stayed at this hotel for one night but had to take the time to share how great it was. It was very clean and inviting. It smelled great, which is uncommon! The front desk was very efficient and quick. I ran into quite a few employees who greeted me with a smile and warm hello. My room was also clean and tidy. Nice and warm)it was 10 degrees out) and plenty of blankets and sheets. I'll definately stay again...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here one night the 1st week of Dec. 2012. The hotel staff we met were very friendly and professional. We did not have reservations but requested a King Suite with a spa tub on the 1st floor and had no problem getting it. The room was better than expected, being very large, well decorated and very, very clean. The bedding was very comfortable with the only exception being the small pillows. The bathroom was impressively large with a full tub/shower. The spa tub was located in the main suite area which also included a sink, microwave and small fridge. The only negative about the Suite was the lack of a larger flat panel T.V. The lobby is nicely decorated and comfortable, great place to relax with a book. The Pool/Spa area was also very nice. It was very clean for a hotel pool, it surprised us that it was open until midnight for adults. Nothing better that a late night swim and soak before bed for a couple of weary travelers!! We did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast which looked slightly above average for a free breakfast. We will definately use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a suite which was very quiet and spacious. The layout of the suite was perfect, very clean with all the amenities that we needed. Breakfast had plenty of options and nearby the front desk were coffee,apples, baked cookies and also granola bars for snacking. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle that runs from the hotel to various Gettysburg locations -- a definite plus during busy tourist seasons.

Room Tip: Third floor, away from the elevator and on other side of parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My stay here was initially a necessity. Too much road time & I needed a break. The room was spacious and clean. The property was very close to the Outlet Mall and TGIF restaurant. If I had been in a shopping mode it would have been excellent. The main room and the bed room are far enough apart to allow for privacy if one is sleeping and another working. I will stay here again. It is not close to downtown Gettysburg so if that is a priority this is not the place. It is about one mile from the Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center.

Room Tip: Even number rooms on floor level face the road. I stayed in 110 - there is a gas station near the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#17 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.