We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Country Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Massachusetts
1 review
“Not your typical Country Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed at this hotel for one night but had to take the time to share how great it was. It was very clean and inviting. It smelled great, which is uncommon! The front desk was very efficient and quick. I ran into quite a few employees who greeted me with a smile and warm hello. My room was also clean and tidy. Nice and warm)it was 10 degrees out) and plenty of blankets and sheets. I'll definately stay again...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    115
    26
    21
    14
See reviews for
139
79
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown Pa.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here one night the 1st week of Dec. 2012. The hotel staff we met were very friendly and professional. We did not have reservations but requested a King Suite with a spa tub on the 1st floor and had no problem getting it. The room was better than expected, being very large, well decorated and very, very clean. The bedding was very comfortable with the only exception being the small pillows. The bathroom was impressively large with a full tub/shower. The spa tub was located in the main suite area which also included a sink, microwave and small fridge. The only negative about the Suite was the lack of a larger flat panel T.V. The lobby is nicely decorated and comfortable, great place to relax with a book. The Pool/Spa area was also very nice. It was very clean for a hotel pool, it surprised us that it was open until midnight for adults. Nothing better that a late night swim and soak before bed for a couple of weary travelers!! We did not take advantage of the complimentary breakfast which looked slightly above average for a free breakfast. We will definately use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Upon our arrival, we were upgraded to a suite which was very quiet and spacious. The layout of the suite was perfect, very clean with all the amenities that we needed. Breakfast had plenty of options and nearby the front desk were coffee,apples, baked cookies and also granola bars for snacking. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle that runs from the hotel to various Gettysburg locations -- a definite plus during busy tourist seasons.

Room Tip: Third floor, away from the elevator and on other side of parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My stay here was initially a necessity. Too much road time & I needed a break. The room was spacious and clean. The property was very close to the Outlet Mall and TGIF restaurant. If I had been in a shopping mode it would have been excellent. The main room and the bed room are far enough apart to allow for privacy if one is sleeping and another working. I will stay here again. It is not close to downtown Gettysburg so if that is a priority this is not the place. It is about one mile from the Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center.

Room Tip: Even number rooms on floor level face the road. I stayed in 110 - there is a gas station near the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Most of the big-name hotels are represented in Gettysburg, and because they compete to fill their rooms, all their facilities are more than adequate. The Country Inn & Suites is no exception. The rooms and common areas are clean, comfortable, quiet, and friendly. One thing sets this hotel apart from others, though. Esther, the attendant in the breakfast room, made us feel so welcome! She greeted each guest with a smile and a kind word (I'm sorry to say that she didn't always receive the same in return), and she was available and ready to lend a hand in making waffles or serving other breakfast items. All the while, she engaged the guests in friendly conversation. It was like eating breakfast in my mother's kitchen again! What a lovely way to start the day. Thanks, Esther! We'll be back.

Room Tip: A large flip-book containing menus from local restaurants is located next to the 1st floor elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here on a cold November night on our way home from camping in warmer weather in Georgia. The cozy lobby with fireplace, sofa, woodwork, cookies for guests, and cordial service was what we needed. It is clean and well located for easy to access highways and local attractions. The breakfast and the friendly service by the sweet lady looking after the guests completed a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My new wife and I had our wedding in Gettysburg, PA and selected this hotel to book all our rooms for the wedding party and guests. My wife and I had a millions things to take care of and the hotel staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly! We had welcome/gift bags for all our guests that we left with the front desk -- who distributed them without a flaw -- helping to ensure everyone had the information they would need to find their way around. We also set up a little informal pizza dinner the first night everyone arrived and the staff were kind enough to allow us use of their dining area (we basically took it over for a couple hours) and they even helped us discard all the boxes after we were finished. They made our stay painless, which just added to the great wedding weekend experience... THANK YOU FOR THE OUTSTANDING SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.