We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay - Friendly Staff:” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Springfield, MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay - Friendly Staff:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My stay here was initially a necessity. Too much road time & I needed a break. The room was spacious and clean. The property was very close to the Outlet Mall and TGIF restaurant. If I had been in a shopping mode it would have been excellent. The main room and the bed room are far enough apart to allow for privacy if one is sleeping and another working. I will stay here again. It is not close to downtown Gettysburg so if that is a priority this is not the place. It is about one mile from the Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center.

Room Tip: Even number rooms on floor level face the road. I stayed in 110 - there is a gas station near the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    96
    22
    17
    9
See reviews for
112
73
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Most of the big-name hotels are represented in Gettysburg, and because they compete to fill their rooms, all their facilities are more than adequate. The Country Inn & Suites is no exception. The rooms and common areas are clean, comfortable, quiet, and friendly. One thing sets this hotel apart from others, though. Esther, the attendant in the breakfast room, made us feel so welcome! She greeted each guest with a smile and a kind word (I'm sorry to say that she didn't always receive the same in return), and she was available and ready to lend a hand in making waffles or serving other breakfast items. All the while, she engaged the guests in friendly conversation. It was like eating breakfast in my mother's kitchen again! What a lovely way to start the day. Thanks, Esther! We'll be back.

Room Tip: A large flip-book containing menus from local restaurants is located next to the 1st floor elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here on a cold November night on our way home from camping in warmer weather in Georgia. The cozy lobby with fireplace, sofa, woodwork, cookies for guests, and cordial service was what we needed. It is clean and well located for easy to access highways and local attractions. The breakfast and the friendly service by the sweet lady looking after the guests completed a nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My new wife and I had our wedding in Gettysburg, PA and selected this hotel to book all our rooms for the wedding party and guests. My wife and I had a millions things to take care of and the hotel staff was incredibly accommodating and friendly! We had welcome/gift bags for all our guests that we left with the front desk -- who distributed them without a flaw -- helping to ensure everyone had the information they would need to find their way around. We also set up a little informal pizza dinner the first night everyone arrived and the staff were kind enough to allow us use of their dining area (we basically took it over for a couple hours) and they even helped us discard all the boxes after we were finished. They made our stay painless, which just added to the great wedding weekend experience... THANK YOU FOR THE OUTSTANDING SERVICE!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have particular fondness for this Country Inn & Suites because I was forced to pull off the road late at night during a long car trip with a frightened dog in a thunder and lightning storm. They do allow pets, and I went in and was given a room right away, and the desk attendant was thoughtful enough to give me a room very close to an exit so I could take the dog out when I needed to. The room was clean and warm when I walked in, and they had coffee and breakfast in a nice dining room, a great touch for starting the morning off early. The staff was friendly and courteous and it was well appreciated for having an unexpected stop mid-trip. I was so impressed that I might just make this my mid-trip stop from now on!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was the 2nd day of a 2 week trip down the East Coast. Very easy to find, right off main road. Located in an Outlet Mall, with a good restaurant right across the parking lot. Front desk receptionist very friendly and helpful. Rather old fashioned, great if you like the "country feel". Plenty of room to spread out, 2 rooms. Bed very comfortable. Room very quiet. A/C was a dated window version not central, but adjusting it was a minor inconvenience. Breakfast was very plentiful, and more than adequate, good selection for those that are heavy eaters.

Room Tip: Upper floors in front, as back of hotel backs up to main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

This place was amazing. When you first walk in its so cozy and everyone is so nice. Very accommodating which is a comfort when you are away from home. Only one thing my boyfriend can complain about was the shower. He is rather tall and the shower head is a little lower then what is needed. Other than than an amazing stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Carlson, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.