We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Watchung, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Although this hotel is a little away from town, it is in a great location for both somebody passing through the area or visiting the area who doesn't mind driving about 5 minutes into downtown. The hotel is set right off Rt. 15 and next to the Outlets and TGI Fridays and some other restaurants. Staff is extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. Rooms are nicely appointed and very comfortable. Lobby is very nice - fireplace and library area for reading or waiting on your travelmates. Conference facilities appear to provide ample space and presentation equipment. Breakfast was very good - features hot and cold meals, coffee, tea and an assortment of beverages. Pool and fitness facilities are very basic but get the job done if you're looking for a quick workout or swim. Outdoor area is great for relaxing on warm days. Overall this was a great hotel and I definitely recommend it for both a quick stop over or an extended stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    97
    22
    17
    9
See reviews for
112
74
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I booked a whirlpool suite three months in advance of our travel. The weekend was to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. My husband and I stay in Gettysburg 3 to 4 times a year and are aware of pretty much all the hotels, b&b's in the area. Usually we do stay in town, but for our anniversary we chose this hotel for its whirlpool suite and ammenities (indoor pool, no pets). Upon arrival the rude front desk staff first said that we didn't have a reservation. As I started to pull out my online confirmation another woman at the desk asked what the name was and then said, "It's back there" and motioned her head to the back wall. Then the first woman gets the paper and states that they made arrangments for us at another hotel and starts to give us directions to it and throws an unsigned letter from the hotel manager at us. No explanation provided. So when I inquire as to why we "lost" our room she just says that they "overbooked" and the other woman at the desk states in an irritated tone, "its a king suite and everything". It's March (not a busy time in Gettysburg) and I booked three months prior-- how on earth would we loose our room? We stayed at this hotel a few years ago and had a nice room, but did notice that there were large groups of noisy teenagers staying there and travel buses in the parking lot. So my assumption is that this hotel caters to groups and business travelers and we lost our room when a group wanted to book there. In fairness to the hotel they did pay for our room at the other hotel, however it was not the room or the hotel of our choosing. There are many places in Gettysburg that we would never stay at, luckily the hotel they switched us to was one that we have stayed at before. However while it was a king suite it only had a jucuzzi tub for one, not a full sized whirlpool, the other hotel had no indoor pool and it is a pet friendly hotel. If this would have happened during one of other stays in Gettysburg it might not have been such a big deal, but this was our anniversary weekend and not what we wanted to deal with. We will never book with the Country Inn and Suites again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We loved this hotel. We were greeted at the desk by very friendly associates, and the room was fantastic, very comfortable and nicely decorated. We stayed in a suite with a separate King bedroom which also had another TV. The other room was very comfortable with a sofa, chair, desk, TV. There was also a microwave, frig, etc. everything you need. Very nice indoor pool and very close to all attractions in Gettysburg. I could walk to the Gettysburg Outlets to shop, and there is also a Friday's next door to the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a trip to historic Gettysburg!

Room Tip: Go online & see what is available, then call!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The staff was exceptional! I was in Gettysburg on business and forgot to pack my phone charger. As I use my phone heavily for business this was a disaster. Lucky for me - the staff had a whole collection of chargers for a variety of phones for guests. It truly saved me having to go buy a new one!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I have to travel frequently and during January, I was on a trip from PA to MD/DC and stopped at this hotel until the storm passed. I don't think I've ever met more friendly and customer-service oriented staff. I really felt at home in the large, beautiful lobby with a lovely fireplace and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, kind, and assisting in providing me with anything to make my stay comfortable. The lobby has coffee at all times, a large-screen dell to use and the breakfast that is served has an extremely large variety of hot, cold foods, juices.

I highly, highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to or passing through Gettysburg. I will always choose it as my hotel to go to when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otego, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

I am a HUGE fan of Country Inn & Suites and this one was one of the best ever! From the aroma of the delicious fresh baked cookies upon entering the cozy lobby, to the comfort, convenience and superb customer service staffing. The location was great for my girlfriends and I - close by the outlets, it can't get any better then that! After shopping til we dropped, we stopped at the Dobbin House for a wonderful dinner. On Sunday we took the short drive over to Hershey, PA and spent the day being pampered at the spa and of course, made a stop at Hershey Chocolate World on our way home! If you are looking for a homey feel, close to all major attractions, fine dining, and Hershey, I would definately recommend this property. It would be great for a family also. I will be returning here with mine!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway and our disappointed in the lack of PLUS breakfast-whatever that means. There is no hot food except a lonely waffle maker. Yet not only the reservation agent, but also the flyer in the room states there are eggs, breakfast meats, and baked rolls and doughnuts. We saw none-despite the fact there are bins for hot foods. This is very odd-why state you offer food if you don't serve it? We asked and were told there are no hot foods! This then would make this just a regular continental breakfast, not a plus one You can get aregular breakfast like this at any lower priced hotel in the area. Too bad cause except for some late night noise from the hwy, this isn't a bad hotel. We will complain to management when we check out to let then know are concerns

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#4 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#8 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Courtyard  by Marriott Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg

Address: 1857 Gettysburg Village Drive, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#16 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Country Inn Gettysburg
Gettysburg Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.