We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nothing special here folks, you get exactly what you expect. Not a particularly special motel but also not very expensive. Kind of tired feeling, but it got the job done. Breakfast was nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were overall satisfied with our accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    182
    97
    35
    17
See reviews for
230
147
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was looking forward to our stay here after reading previous reviews, but I think the reviewers were mistaken. I am not an overly fussy person but this hotel needs an update. Our sheets and towels were threadbare, the pillows and mattress lumpy, and there were signs of wear in every area. In our room we found used coffee grounds in the coffee pot. We noticed the smell of cigarette smoke in our hall daily, as well as the smell of some sickening vanilla scent by the stairs. The wireless internet connection was terrible and it would cut out constantly.

On the upside The hotel is very easy to find, Perkin's restaurant is handy right across the free parking lot,our room had a fridge and coffee pot, and the people at the desk were very helpful. Your stay includes a good free basic breakfast to start your day, and free long distance phone calls. There is an available computer and printer in the lobby, and an indoor pool. I would have no qualms about bringing children here to stay.

Room Tip: Noisy on the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We have actually upgraded about 80% of the hotel over the last 2 years. I am surprised that you were unhappy with your stay. I apologize if it was anything less than satisfying. If you are in the area again we would like a second chance as it is always top priority for our guests to enjoy their stay in a clean and comfortable room.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was clean and in a great location. After reading reviews I had higher expectations. The towels and sheets need to be replaced and upgraded. Staff were friendly especially the person who checked us in. She gave us great recommendations on restaurants including a map and directions. Breakfast was adequate. For the price a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review, I will make sure I look into the sheet and towel issue. I am pleased my staff was able to assist you. If you are in the area again we would love for you to return.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading so many postitive reviews before we booked this Super 8 hotel, was looking forward to our stay. Staff at check in were less than friendly, but accomplished the task of getting us our rooms keys and directing us to where our room was. Room was clean enough, although entire hotel needs an UPDATE badly. Worst part of my stay was the overwhelming smell of smoke in our room coming from vents and in hallways. We stayed in a non smoking room and all the rooms in our wing (if not entire floor?) are supposed to be non smoking. I'm assuming bad ventilation system? The overwhelming smell of smoke was a deal breaker for me. Breakfast was poor. The best option was make your own waffles, but that was almost about it. Just white & wheat bread, two kinds of cereal and apples. No muffins, bagels, eggs, yogurt or any other kinds of fruit to choose from. We walked to Perkins for breakfast instead. I needed to get out of there for some fresh air anyway. Upon check out, was not even asked how our stay was. I'm sure there are much better hotels in the area; would not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize if your stay was anything less than satisfying. We try to please each and every guest that enters our building. Our breakfast consists of cereal (2 kinds), "Simply Cinnamon Rolls", white and wheat breads, oatmeal, make your own waffles, yogurt, apples and now hard boiled eggs. We do understand that this will not satisfy everyone but, it is an attempt to satisfy even the pickiest eater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The quality of the Super Eight's is usually the same wherever you go. They are clean , comfortable and and the staff helpfull. Like McDonalds you know what to expect regardless of the locations and they are generally located in secure locations

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay. We try to make each and every guests stay enjoyable, clean and comfortable. We look forward to your return visit if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Gettysburg
Travelodge Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#4 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
Pets Allowed, P...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Gettysburg
Motel 6 Gettysburg
#22 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super 8
Gettysburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.