We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only complaint was something loud playing in room above us...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Gettysburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
BEECH CREEK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only complaint was something loud playing in room above us...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Only complaint was something loud playing in room above us till 4:30am... and you could smell cig smoke when people went outside to smoke, but was faint and only a couple times...
Room was clean and large...
We will stay there again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am pleased that you found our hotel clean and enjoyable. I apologize about any noise you may have heard from your neighbors, we usually are able to correct these situations fairly easy. We look forward to you return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    210
    109
    43
    19
See reviews for
261
167
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springvale, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

You can get a non-smoking room at this Super 8, but it really won't make that much of a difference. The hallway absolutely smells like an ashtray, and an old one at that. Even in your smoke-free room the odor of old smoke is almost overpowering. In the bathroom, I often smelt fresh smoke; I'm not sure where it was coming from. Fortunately, I wasn't in town to hang out in my room, so it was tolerable. If you're a smoker, this motel is probably perfect for you! The rates are very reasonable for this destination town. The room was spacious and well-equipped. Location was nice; the great downtown area was only a few minutes away and the battlefield within ten minutes. The bed was the worst made I've ever experienced in a motel; I actually stripped it and re-made it myself! Two of the four pillows on my bed had blood stains on them that were bad enough you could see them through the pillow cases. After this stay, I've decided that I'm going to stay in 100% smoke-free motels. Smoke is one of those things that you can't keep in just one part of a building!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, I apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfying. At the end of 2013 we will go completely smoke-free. I hope you give us a second chance then. I apologize that our housekeeping was not top notch for your stay and I assure you this is not typical of our cleaning staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything was great. Room was spacious and clean. It was ready upon arrival. Hotel was conveniently located on the main road into Gettysburg and was, if so desired, even within walking distance of the town itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our hotel suitable for your Gettysburg traveling needs. If you are ever in the area again we would be more than happy to help you with your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super 8
Gettysburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.