We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold your breath.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Gettysburg to your Saves list
Super 8 Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Springvale, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hold your breath.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

You can get a non-smoking room at this Super 8, but it really won't make that much of a difference. The hallway absolutely smells like an ashtray, and an old one at that. Even in your smoke-free room the odor of old smoke is almost overpowering. In the bathroom, I often smelt fresh smoke; I'm not sure where it was coming from. Fortunately, I wasn't in town to hang out in my room, so it was tolerable. If you're a smoker, this motel is probably perfect for you! The rates are very reasonable for this destination town. The room was spacious and well-equipped. Location was nice; the great downtown area was only a few minutes away and the battlefield within ten minutes. The bed was the worst made I've ever experienced in a motel; I actually stripped it and re-made it myself! Two of the four pillows on my bed had blood stains on them that were bad enough you could see them through the pillow cases. After this stay, I've decided that I'm going to stay in 100% smoke-free motels. Smoke is one of those things that you can't keep in just one part of a building!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, I apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfying. At the end of 2013 we will go completely smoke-free. I hope you give us a second chance then. I apologize that our housekeeping was not top notch for your stay and I assure you this is not typical of our cleaning staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NEW YORK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Everything was great. Room was spacious and clean. It was ready upon arrival. Hotel was conveniently located on the main road into Gettysburg and was, if so desired, even within walking distance of the town itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank ERIC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found our hotel suitable for your Gettysburg traveling needs. If you are ever in the area again we would be more than happy to help you with your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

the staff made us feel like family.We had an emergency and the staff took real good care of us.The room was clean,the pool n spa were exceptional.If you're looking for a place that goes out of their way to make you comfortable this is it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mabbit48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we always try to make each and every guests stay relaxing and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff was more than helpful. I've had past experiences and they have been ok. The BEST representative to speak to is DMITRI. Me and my family have ALWAYS been more then content, every time I come here when he is working. He works night time front and desk. I will keep you updated on my experiences with the next 2 days. Jon was also very helpful during my stay this week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaches21074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Dmitri is a great asset to our hotel. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
1.4 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#9 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super 8
Gettysburg Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing