We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less $$$ than next door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“less $$$ than next door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and 7 year old stayed here 2 nights, and we all enjoyed ourselves. The rooms were basic, but clean, and everything seemed to work,appliance wise.There was a small fridge and microwave,a safe,and cable t.v.! They provided a basic breakfast area, with oatmeal,cereal,eggs,toast,etc.(Enough to hold you over,anyways). My whole family thought the pool area was the best part of the hotel !! A decent sized hot-tub didn't hurt ,either. The staff were all pleasant,and even let us have late checkout, and the cleaning crew were solid every morning.Compared to it's two neighbors,they definetly had the best price,and it didn't appear they had anything fancier going on,than this place. We like clean places, with attentive staff, and this place fits the bill. I would stay there again,when I visit the area !

Room Tip: This hotel offers a buy 2 nites,get one night free,and it came in handy for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were happy with your stay here at the Super 8. If you are in the area again we would be happy to serve your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    175
    93
    35
    17
See reviews for
222
145
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa Valley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Firstly I will stay that this hotel was not even in our plans to visit. We stopped at Gettysburg on a Saturday night in August, with no reservations. Poor idea on my part!
We stopped at three previous hotels that wanted the better part of $200 for one nights accomodation and thought we were headed to the Holiday Inn Gettysburg. Apparently our GPS needs updating and the Holiday Inn is now a Super 8. I guess it was too run down for Holiday Inn to keep up, and it was sold or traded to Super 8, who really knows what happened there.
Anyway, with my 6 year old needing to find a pool and a place to stay for the night, I agreed to stay due to the price. I think $104 plus taxes... The room looked alright, but the smell of air fresheners everywhere throughout the hotel and was apparent right from the first step inside. After I reluctantly checked in, we discovered the room we as non smokers had, was directly across the hall from a smoking room. It was displayed on the room doors and we left in the morning a little smoke tanned from less than 12 hours here.
So the pool was icy cold, too cold for my husband and daughter to even try to enjoy. And Breakfast buffet was busy, dirty and poor.
I did email the hotel manager already and I was thanked for my input. If you are used to a clean, smoke free environment, please avoid this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologize if you found our hotel anything less than pleasing.
Yes, in 2009 we changed from a Holiday Inn Express to the Super 8. The reasoning for that is we are too small of a building as Holiday Inn has changed their guidelines as far as structure of the buildings.
We do have 5 smoking rooms in our hotel which we do not hide. It is well noted on the interent and on the room doors that we do allow smoking in certain rooms.
Again, I do apologize that you were not satisfied. When we completely switch to non-smoking you are more than welcome to come experiance our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Mills, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here overnight after a long day of travel and sightseeing and were so pleased! The hotel staff were fast, courteous and very helpful with check-in, maps, computer and even recommendations for restaurants. The rooms are spacious and CLEAN. The bedding was nice and most importantly comfortable. There is a pool and hot tub which we didnt use but thats a bonus especially when travelling with kids. Breakfast with cereals, yogurts, toast, waffles, coffee etc included as well, and thankfully everything was well stocked and taken care of. We stayed at a Wingate in Lynchburg that wasnt half as good as this--for twice the money. We would definitely stay at a Super 8 again---well worth it and I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you decided to stay with us and found it better than another upscale hotel!
If you are ever in the area we would love to meet your accomodation needs again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We are getting ready to wrap up our trip and our stay here was wonderful. From the desk clerk, Demitris, to the housekeeping. Thank you all for a great stay. Our room was spacious and it was my husband and two of our kids. Beds are comfy. When we come back to Gettysburg, we are definitely staying here. Close to all sites and there is even a mall within a 5 minute drive.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review!
Yes, we are close to all the major attractions yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of down-town!
If you are ever in the area feel free to stay with us again!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I lodged at this Super 8 for two nights, July 26-27, 2012. This is a solid, professional lodging. Check in was quick, and staff were courteous and professional throughout. My room was spacious, very clean, and the powerful air conditioning most welcome in the July heat. The room was cleaned well each day. Breakfast was simple, and offered juice, coffee, cereal, toast, and waffles -- enough to get the day off and rolling. For me the supreme criteria for lodging is the "Q" word, that is Quiet, and this Super 8 was quiet. I slept wonderfully. Many families stay here, as well as history buffs of a certain age like me. Although I did not swim, the kids seemed to be enjoying the pool. A fine place to stay in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent two night stay with us!
We always appreciate when the guest gives as feedback.
If you are in the area again we will be looking forward to seeing you again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcpickle33
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was SO NICE!! I did have an issue with my air conditioner, but it was fixed asap. VERY comfy beds.....I didn't eat the free breakfast they served, but it looked good, and always lots of folks there in the morning.
I would stay here again next time I'm in Gettysburg.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will be looking forward to your return.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at the Super 8-Gettysburg over night on my way back from the NC and what I first noticed was the fake flower smell that is sprayed to cover up the smell of the old air conditioning/smoke. Even in the hallways the smell is prevalent. It is not a good smell, smells a little like toilet bowl deodorizer. If they replaced the air conditioners and maybe use a carpet extractor the rooms wouldn't need the wall mounted deodorizers that spray every few minutes. I half expected to find see a bug crawling on something though everything seemed pretty clean. I essentially wanted to leave as soon as I checked in to the room. The walls are pretty thin, you can hear hallway activity and also when people use the showers in the other rooms. I couldn't wait to leave the next day. I wish I had brought hand sanitizer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I apologize that your stay was less than satisfying.
We assure you that it is not typical to have an unpleasant stay as you can read most reviews are pleasant.

We will utilize your comments in the future to prevent others guests from experiencing the same issues.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super 8
Gettysburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.