We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST SEE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Diorama

Gettysburg Diorama
241 Steinwehr Ave, Gettysburg, Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 334-6408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 30 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See the ENTIRE battlefield at one time and watch the troop movements for ALL three days of battle. The battlefield covers 6,000 acres, an area large enough to be difficult to visualize. The Gettysburg Diorama will put the battle into perspective when you see the ENTIRE battlefield as it appeared in 1863. Carefully researched and meticulously assembled, the Diorama contains over 20,000 hand-painted soldiers, horses, cannons and buildings. Picture the battle through the eyes of Generals Meade and Lee as a narrative unfolds in miniature with a light and sound effects experience you won't forget.
Savannah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

If you are a history buff, you will leave in tears!! This unique display is the best I've seen and the perfect addition to the museum and the site tours.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgDiorama, Manager at Gettysburg Diorama, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the great review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    96
    47
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Amazing recreation, but we were rushed out and feel like I needed more time to take in all the images.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgDiorama, Manager at Gettysburg Diorama, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed the Diorama. Sorry if you seemed rushed. We give at least 5 min before and after the show to look around, longer if there's no one for the next show. You might have come in right before we need to start the program. Very sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Needs Updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

The 2D Show needs a modernization, even if the twinkling lights you see for troop movements needs to be installed. The overhead lights are used to focus in on the topics, and that's just not enough technology in this modern age. The souveniers are also a bit tired. But I always enjoy my trip here and the hostess with the injured leg is pretty and funny.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgDiorama, Manager at Gettysburg Diorama, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Sorry about not having the modern technology, but we're more concerned about giving a good history lesson. The other reviews seem to think we're doing ok in this thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsontown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The Diorama was great! The only drawback is the gift shop they ask you to wait in before entering the theatre. A little bit tacky for such a cool attraction!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgDiorama, Manager at Gettysburg Diorama, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed the show. We also have a lobby with many interesting displays to look at while you wait for the show. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was our first stop. I wanted to give everyone in our group an overview that encompassed the scope and sequence of the 3 day battle. It was well done and served it's purpose. The artifacts around the diorama were also interesting. It was great to see the whole battlefield for some context.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgDiorama, Manager at Gettysburg Diorama, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gettysburg Diorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Diorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.