We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Exciting as Promised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Diorama

Gettysburg Diorama
1195 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325, Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 334-6408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 36 Attractions in Gettysburg
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: See the ENTIRE battlefield at one time and watch the troop movements for ALL three days of battle. The battlefield covers 6,000 acres, an area large enough to be difficult to visualize. The Gettysburg Diorama will put the battle into perspective when you see the ENTIRE battlefield as it appeared in 1863. Carefully researched and meticulously assembled, the Diorama contains over 20,000 hand-painted soldiers, horses, cannons and buildings. Picture the battle through the eyes of Generals Meade and Lee as a narrative unfolds in miniature with a light and sound effects experience you won't forget.
Southeastern,Pa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not as Exciting as Promised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A beautiful painting that gives you a good idea of what happened on the battlefield. the little light flashes and sound effects add to the interest. I guess I expected a little more, maybe for th diorama to rotate or the platform we were standing on so as not to miss wha was going on in several areas at once. I guess Disney spoiled me. I was also wondering why it was painted by a French artist and not an American and was told that it was because the person was the foremost cyclorama painter of that time...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    87
    47
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very neat, good for those new to G'burg to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This diorama is very neat and obviously a ton of work went into it. A video plays as well giving an overview of the Gettysburg battle which is a good way to introduce those new to the battle and give them an idea what happened there before visiting the battlefields. And the diorama itself is like a map showing a 'bird's eye view' of the fields of battle. It's definitely worth checking out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Bridge, MD
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Really interesting..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We received our tickets free from Artillery Ridge Campground so I wasn't sure what to expect. Our entire family enjoyed the diorama and the history behind the 3 day battle. If you can keep a 6 year old interested with history that is something! I'm amazed at all the work that must have went into building this. Nice attraction and a great way to get a good snapshot into the Gettysburg battle.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Finally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Another attraction in Gettysburg that was suffering, but "recent" renovations have returned this place to its former glory. Congrats to the town for addressing the needs of this place. I was worth the effort.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Interesting Perspective”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This diorama and presentation provides a very interesting perspective of the battle of Gettysburg. You're able to see a scale model of the area where fighting took place and the narration is quite interesting. I would highly recommend checking it out.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Diorama also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Diorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Diorama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.