We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Lincoln Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Lincoln Square to your Saves list
Inn at Lincoln Square
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Midsummer Night's Special
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Jeannine was wonderful! We had an amazing visit and the Inn is located close to everything. The Inn is clearly a historical site but the town home was clean, close to everything and most importantly the Innkeeper Jeannine was so helpful and welcoming. We did the guided tour of Battlefield and totally recommend it (John). Everyone in the shops and restaurants were friendly.

Wonderful all around!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    22
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
144
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed one night at the Inn at Lincoln Square. We love bed and breakfast inns and have stayed in many over the years, in the US and elsewhere. I will be repeating many of the positives that have been stated in other reviews. Jeannine was very friendly and met us out at the street to show us the parking behind the Inn. I really like meeting the innkeepers and she was very accommodating. She does not live onsite but gave us her cell phone and I am sure that she would have taken care of anything we needed. We stayed in the Mary Juliet Danner Suite. The old part of the inn has three bedrooms, one on each of the three floors and reached by a central staircase. We were the only ones staying in the old part of the inn that night, so we got to see all three of the rooms in this part of the inn. Our room was on the first floor (i.e. street level). The second floor room is identical, just a different furniture, rugs, etc and the bathroom is switched (because of the staircase). The top floor is in the attic -- lower ceiling, open rafters, different bathroom arrangement - its rustic and we would have enjoyed it in our 30's but probably not so much in our 50's. (Great place to put the teenagers though.) The rooms on the first two floors are "suites" in the sense that each is a very large room with a divider in the middle - bedroom in the back, sitting room in front. The "divider" actually opens up toward the front to reveal a kitchenette - refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, stove together with dishes and utensils. We did not use it but it was pretty ingenious. The furnishings were antiques - very nice. Great feeling of the time period. Our bathroom was very nice, very clean - no bathtub though. Bed was very comfortable. I think that this is the oldest inn we have stayed at in the US and someone did a lot of working bringing in electricity, plumbing, etc. There were muffins and fruit in the room but not a hot breakfast. There is a French bistro that serves crepes for breakfast just on the corner. We ate dinner kitty-corner at a pub. Both eating places were pretty good. The square is great and you feel a part of history staying right in the center of town. The downtown shopping areas of Gettysburg are more extensive than I anticipated and I wish we would have had more time to stroll and enjoy the atmosphere. We ate lunch at the Dobbin tavern and hired a guide recommended by Jeannine (she sends you an extensive email when you reserve a room that has a LOT of info about Gettysburg). One caution - there is a tavern just to the west of the Inn and connected (I think). The square also has steady traffic. It was a little noisy at night outside the front window with traffic and groups coming and going. I always use earplugs when I sleep anyway and went right to sleep. My wife said the she heard it for a little while but not too late. I would not change plans because of the location, just be aware that you are in the middle of town. We would definitely recommend staying there once, and we would maybe even the stay there again, although the price is a little more than we would generally pay. There are two "townhomes" of newer construction added on to the back of the older building. We did not see them and so can't provide any insight. Definitely would be quieter but you may lose some of the atmosphere. Given a choice I would still pick one of the two main rooms in the old inn for couples. Gettysburg itself was fabulous and we look forward to bringing some of our family next time. One day was not enough to see everything, but it was all we had.

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the inn if you are a couple. Second floor might be quieter from the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was just a short getaway for our family of four. Jeanne could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. The "house" we stayed in was clean and perfect for the four of us. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. It's VERY convenient too - we walked almost everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

While visiting Gettysburg we stay at this beautiful Inn. Located right in the center of town this Inn is close to everything. Clean and well maintained. The Innkeeper Jeannine cares about her guests and makes sure every need is taken care of. She is attentive and detail oriented. She is around when you need her, and if you don't you won't see her until check out, which is what my husband and I prefer instead of in your face Innkeepers. Jeannine made our dinner reservations and also booked us a private tour, which was fantastic. Jeannine and The Inn at Lincoln Square made our Gettysburg so much more enjoyable. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our family of 5 was traveling and had 24 hours to spend in Gettysburg--this 'townhouse' was a sweet home away from home. Very comfortable home -- kitchen and living room downstairs, three bedrooms and a bath upstairs. It was so spacious and clean; decorated so cute, too. Everything was there to make our stay the best--fruit, muffins, water, ice, coffee. Jeannine helped us get the most out of our time at Gettysburg. I would not miss dinner at the Dobbin House!! We also took a tour with Ghostly Images -- excellent storytellers. The location of Inn at Lincoln Square was perfect. I just loved having everything provided so conveniently.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I took my husband there for a surprise getaway for his 30th birthday. We loved the room. It was so spacious and clean. The location was the cherry on top. We were able to walk to every destination we were headed over the weekend. Jeannine is great too! She was available for any questions or concerns and was very helpful showing us the room. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Gettysburg is a truly diverse place to visit. On one hand you have a living breathing history lesson like nothing you ever learned in school. Plus great places to eat, wonderful taverns to "wet your whistle" and even ghostly encounters.

One place to have a true piece of history for your very own is the Inn at Lincoln Square.

My husband and I stayed in the MARY JULIET DANNER SUITE March 19 -21, 2014. I won't tell all because that would spoil some of the surprises you will not find included in the brochure.

A home away from home, this beautifully furnished first floor apartment is cleaner than my own home. It's in the middle of everything. I sat one afternoon and just looked out the window at the changing scene in front of me.

The innkeeper, Jeannine, likes what she does and it is reflected in every nuance of the property. She will be there for you if you need her.

I don't always care for B&Bs. But this one made me fall in love.

Now... just make sure you don't book my suite on the days when I want to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#11 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Gettys Hotel
James Gettys Hotel
#2 of 29 in Gettysburg
5.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#13 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Lincoln Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lincoln Square

Address: 12 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Lincoln Square 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning brick Civil War property uniquely situated on the Historic Lincoln Square. One of the most beautifully decorated interiors in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Lincoln Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Lincoln Square Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Lincoln Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.