We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Lincoln Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inn at Lincoln Square to your Saves list
Inn at Lincoln Square
12 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
RELAX WITH A MASSAGE!
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Romantic anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Inn at Lincoln Square for our 5 year anniversary, and a very relaxing (and quiet!) respite from our children, who are 2 and 1.

I can not say enough great things about our stay! Our amazing experience with the Inn started before we even arrived. We actually booked very last minute (the morning we planned on arriving) and Greg, the Inn's manager, personally called and told me that he was very sorry he could not be there to greet us (he had a scheduled dr's appt), but that his assistant Jeannine would be there. He even texted me her number so I could call if there were any problems along the way. Jeannine called us about an hour before we arrived, told us to travel safely, and asked us to call as we were approaching the square so she could guide us to parking, which she did. She gave us a tour of the room and also told us the history of the Inn, which was great. There was a wonderful basket of fresh fruit and muffins waiting, and the Keurig had a great variety of coffee. When I inquired about tea she immediately went downstairs and came up with k-cups of tea for me. We asked her about shuttle service to the Eisenhower farm, which she wasn't sure about, but assured us she would find out and get back to us. When we returned from dinner we were greeted by Greg. Greg was so warm, friendly, and immediately made us feel at home. He had the shuttle times for the farm printed out, as well as additional information for the area. Because we were staying mid-week and no one else had booked the room for the following night, he told us to enjoy ourselves, sleep in, and not worry about the check out time. We were floored, and very grateful!

The room itself (Irene Danner suite, 2nd floor) was very spacious (about 750 square feet) and very clean with a king sized poster bed, sofa, chair with ottoman, and kitchenette complete with fridge, microwave, keurig, and full stove. The bathroom had a shower and double sink. The gas fireplace was a wonderful touch, and because the house is very old it was just chilly enough that we slept very comfortably with it on the entire night (also it added to the romantic atmosphere!) The windows in the room overlook Lincoln Square and the front door to the Inn opens directly to the Square (you can't beat the location, and the Square is beautifully decorated for Christmas!) When we woke up the next morning, Greg had slipped the day's weather report under the door for us. When we left he came to say goodbye, asked if we needed help with our bags, and walked us to our car.

Greg and Jeannine went above and beyond with every detail, and their warmth and generosity won us over right from the start. They told us they were there to help us with anything we might need, and you could tell they truly meant it. We will not hesitate to return for future anniversaries and relaxing trips away from the kids!

We did miss not having a hot breakfast, but we felt the convenient access to the coffee and tea in the room, as well as the fruit and muffins made up for it.

For dinner I would recommend Dobbin House. We ate downstairs in the Tavern and had a great meal. For breakfast or lunch I would highly recommend Cafe Saint Armand, which was located on the same block as the Inn and was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
65
136
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This wonderfull little inn from the time of the battle really send the right atmosphere to the visit. Immediataley when arriving, you find a welcomming staicase and large smile from Greg and Janine, making you feel welcome before you really know you're there. The suites were high quality when it comes to standard. The batthroom was certainly a joy. The suites are large with the bed as the crowning of the staying experience. You really find yourself travelling back in time, thus keeping the technological advanteges from today.

Room Tip: The suites, if availeble, are the true value of staying at the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our stay at the Lincoln Inn was wonderful. Greg was great helping us get settled. The room was beautiful and the location was amazing. Even the little touches-like the beautiful bowl of fruit and selection of pastry in the room-were great! Greg went out of his way to help us out with other arrangements for the weekend. We could not have had a better time and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

It was our first trip to Gettysburg and we were so lucky to be able to stay at the Inn at Lincoln Square. It is right in the heart of Gettysburg! We arrived on the late side but Greg was there with a smile and a welcome. He could not have been nicer . Our room was clean and charming. It included a coffee maker, a bowl of fresh fruit and muffins and water stocked in the refrigerator. Greg had great suggestions for local guides, tours and restaurants. It was a very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I came to the lovely town of Gettysburg for a weekend away. To our surprise, we had much more in store for us, as it was Dedication Weekend. The Inn was absolutely amazing. If you're thinking of staying at any other location, don't. You'd be crazy to miss out on this gem. Everything from the location, to the decor, to the fresh fruit and muffins waiting in the room upon our arrival, was first class. Greg, the owner, was fantastic. For our trip, we had 1 person who loves the history of the town, battlefield, and museums. Another who loves the charm of the town, crafts and wineries, Greg had suggestions for all of our interests. From period dining to wine tastings to Civil War photography, we never had a dull moment thanks to his knowledge, wonderful personality and first class accommodations. We are already planning our return trip! Do yourself a favor, stop reading this review and book your stay at this amazing B&B now!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My family has been coming to Gettysburg for this weekend every year for the 8 yrs.
Our habit has always been to stay at another hotel on the square, when I called last spring they were already booked. I had seen the Inn in passing and had checked out the website before, so I gave them a call. Greg was friendly and helpful during the reservation process. When we arrived Friday evening, he was waiting, he helped with our luggage and gave us a tour. We stayed in the Eva Danner townhouse. The whole place was spotless and smelled clean. The morning light that comes in through the courtyard facing windows is wonderful! Though I would recommend that if you are someone that is bothered by any light while trying to sleep, choose the bedroom with no windows, otherwise not only is the morning sun bright but there is a large light somewhere outside that may interfere with catching your zzzz. The bathroom is long and narrow but functional. If your looking for new and ultra modern this is not it, if your looking for comfy cozy with lots of character and history you should definitely give this place a try! The welcome muffins and fruit are excellent and if your unfamiliar with the area, Greg provides plenty of helpful local information. It was a wonderfull experience and we will stay here again in the future!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our event was a wedding. The need was a place to house four of our children and their families. The town houses at The Inn at Lincoln Square were the perfect location. The Inn at Lincoln Square is in the heart of Gettysburg and right in the midst of restaurants, interesting Gettysburg stores, winery tasting rooms, and services of many varieties. An unexpected, but perfect bonus for us was that the town houses, being across the street from the location of our wedding reception, also offered a roomy place to host a Friday, before-the-wedding and a Saturday, after-the-wedding party. With its full kitchen, comfortable furniture, open floor plan and the lovely, gated patio, it was a large, comfortable, convenient and home-like place to entertain. The town houses are uniquely located within the property which made them a private, and personal oasis where sleeping was good (no street noise) and we didn't have to worry that our parties were keeping anyone else awake.

It was clean, well equipped, had comfortable beds and nicely appointed rooms. Delicious muffins and fresh fruit, plus coffee and tea and bottled water were provided in generous amounts. Parking was very close and convenient-a real bonus in Gettysburg. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and available-whether we needed a broom or more water we had it immediately. Because we were entertaining a large number of people we put the space and staff to the test and they both passed with flying colors.

For location, service, comfort, amenities, and a home away from home, The town houses at The Inn at Lincoln Square would be very hard to beat.

Room Tip: one town house has three private bedrooms and a cozy downstairs one town house has three bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Lincoln Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lincoln Square

Address: 12 Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning brick Civil War property uniquely situated on the Historic Lincoln Square. One of the most beautifully decorated interiors in Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Lincoln Square Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Lincoln Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.