We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the $8 entry to the Museum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center

Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center
1195 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325
+1 717-338-1243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 attractions in Gettysburg
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: To commemorate the Battle of Gettysburg, begin your visit at the official Gettysburg National Military Park Museum & Visitor Center. The Museum and Visitor Center features the breathtaking Cyclorama Painting created in 1890 depicting the fury of Pickett's Charge, the film "A New Birth of Freedom" and the extensive Gettysburg Museum of the American Civil war. Purchase tickets prior to your arrival online and reserve a battlefield guide licensed through the National Park Service. Starting June 6, The George Spangler Farm Civil War Hospital Site opens its summer season for tours and program.
Point Harbor, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth the $8 entry to the Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped in here on a whim on Sunday afternoon. All bus tours, movies and the cylorama were sold out for the day, but the Museum was open and it was excellent. We spent about 2 hours there. The exhibits and artifacts are interspersed with short movies from the History Channel that take you through the three days of battle and beyond.

The museum itself is probably not suited for very young children - they would be bored - but the packs of Boy Scouts that were there appeared to be getting something out of it.

The on-site restaurant sold hamburgers and chicken sandwiches and chil and such. The food was fine - in fact the chili and cornbread was quite good.

There is a free bus from the parking lots but there is also a nice walkway.

We will return in October to complete our visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,422
    265
    63
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mims florida
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
390 helpful votes 390 helpful votes
“catering closes too early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On Saturday we wanted to have drink at 5pm but not open;on Sunday we came at 3pm but also shut. The centre itself is open until 6pm so why close money raising customer friendly services like the cafe?? The loos are ok. I agree with Bill Bryson that the National Parks are too precious to entrust to Government employees. Hand them over to a charity like the English National Trust and the cafes would be open beyond the usual opening hours.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Start your day here when visiting Gettysburg!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We started here and were glad we did! Get the history before traveling onto the battlefield and cemetery. We saw the movie first and then up to the cyclorama and it was amazing and our guide Linda was very knowledgeable. We then went on and had an in car licensed field guide tour us throughout the battlefield for 2 hours! He was excellent and it is well worth the small fee for such incredible knowledge of land and history. We will be back and spend more time in this incredibly historic national park!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Gettysburg Museum and Visitor Center was a great start to our tour of Gettysburg. The cyclorama was amazing. The museum staff was very helpful and pleasant.

The exhibits are very good. I recommend to start here first and then move on to other locations. The staff gave us great tips for the area. There are tours that start from here. I would suggest to give yourself at least 2 hours to tour the museum, if you are adding a tour leave 3 to 4.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very Modern Facility”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This museum and visitor center is well-designed, with many people available to answer questions and direct you to the various tours and presentations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gettysburg Museum & Visitor Center to your Saves list