We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & not so good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added The Lodges at Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
New City, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good & not so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Well let me start out by saying that the property is beautiful and I think it's a wonderful place to have a wedding or party. We checked in and the man was pleasant enough, although I felt like we were interrupting him from web surfing or something on the computer. We were told where our room was and nothing about where or when breakfast was, (we pre-paid for, but would not recommend)
Our room was beautiful, a couple of things were off, like the bed kind moved and made weird sounds, the shower was pretty to look at but the water took sooo long to drain so you were standing in water for quite a while before it actually drained. The only other issue in the room was that there was not enough sugar, so when we went to breakfast, we took a few extra back to our room and the maids removed all the sugar we took and left us with bare minimum, thought that was not cool.
As to breakfast, wow I actually think that this place has such potential for greatness, but have severely dropped the ball when it comes to this. We went the first morning and the woman behind the desk told us that it would $5.95 per person, and I said that we had pre-paid, again I felt like we were inconveniencing the staff. We were shocked when we went into the room, very little fruit, some cereal, waffles to make yourself,stale plastic wrapped muffins, just so sad. This is not a inexpensive place to stay and I personally think breakfast should be complimentary, but to have to pay for what was offered was really pathetic. Needless to say, we only went that morning and drove into Gettysburg to eat breakfast the following two mornings, never to receive credit from them for breakfasts uneaten.

I sure do hope that they read these reviews and someone stands up and does something about the breakfast fiasco at this place. Otherwise it is a pretty place, and has so much potential.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
All guest feedback is important to us, so we greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your breakfast did not exceed your expectations. Hearing candid feedback from our valued guests is an opportunity for our entire team to investigate ways to improve upon the experience we offer. Thank you and we hope you will consider a future stay at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    63
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
86
114
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have had a very positive experience with The Lodges with each of my 3 stays. This last visit was especially wonderful. When I checked in this last time I learned that Hotels.com/Experian did not provide us with a King bed, as I had requested. In response, Harrison at the front desk was kind enough to upgrade our room at no extra charge, and he put us in the VA Lodge which couldn't have been nicer. When I called to say that someone had neglected to put an ice tray in the freezer, he immediately jumped into his golf cart and brought us up a bucket of ice. The following morning, when we overslept and missed breakfast (I guess the beds were TOO comfortable!), the Lodges allowed us to take whatever breakfast items they could still find for us, again at no charge! My daughter is a Freshman at Gettysburg College and the Lodges at Gettysburg will definitely be our hotel of choice for the next 4 years!

Room Tip: Be aware that The Lodges immediately charges your credit card upon booking, the only drawback to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
It is wonderful to read your kind review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience and appreciate that you took the time to mention the responsiveness of our staff. Thank you for providing your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight and it was a great choice. We loved the bathroom especially--- the shower was wonderful. Our only complaint would probably be the beds; it seemed like the box springs needed replacing as they were a tad noisy. Other than that, the grounds and area were beautiful and perfect for a fall stay. Thank you for helping to make pur anniversary weekend a real treat!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your visit to The Lodges at Gettysburg. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and truly appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here with family over four days in early October. The setting of the Lodges couldn't possibly get better. The cabin that we rented was well appointed and spacious. The pictures on the website were misleading, as we had no patio furniture, but we didn't spend too much time on the small balcony. The cabins were very close together and had little parking available. There were back-to-back weddings and guests from these events parked in our parking spots. The receptionist upon check-in was helpful, but other than him, all the other employees in the lobby seemed short and almost rude. I strongly agree with another reviewer that you should avoid the breakfast for the additional cost; better, cheaper breakfast can be found in town. The pros of the Lodges do outweigh the cons though. Gorgeous property away from town and quiet-setting were just what I was looking for, especially since the price was right. I can overlook and ignore grouchy employees and stale breakfast if the rooms are clean. My two boys loved their outdoor adventure, and enjoyed fishing with Dad in the pond on property as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed your stay, as you put it, "better than staying at a chain"! We pride ourselves in our location and service and thank you for sharing your story and kind words. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Lodges for 4 nights this past weekend. We loved Gettysburg and the surrounding area, but this place is completely misleading. It's about 10 miles outside of downtown, which was ok, but the accommodations are not worth the price of the drive. We stayed in the Lieutenant's lodge. The "fireplace" is an electric box in the corner with fake dancing flames. The "private outside porch is a plastic framed 4x8 "deck" with no chairs, but they do provide a galvanized steel bucket with sand - for smokers I assume. The "exposed beam ceilings" are 2x4's stained and nailed to the ceiling and are not structural and not even decorative in that they don't match the decor. The lighting is terrible - one overhead ceiling fan light in the living area and a small light over the sink. The "extended bathroom" is a walking shower, no tub. There was no hairdryer, no hangers, the "free wi-fi" was down the entire time, and the water only got to luke warm in the shower. I asked for service on all of these things and while they smiled politely, the answer I got was "no, sorry". Also, skip the continental breakfast for $6 per person. Go into town and eat at Cafe Saint-Amand. It's cheaper and wonderful food! We loved our visit, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
While we’re truly grateful that you chose to spend a weekend escape at our property, we are disappointed to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We would like to share that our website includes all pertinent information regarding our room types and what they offer and our staff is always happy to assist in finding the perfect accommodations to suit the needs of our guests. We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

A friend recommended The Lodges to me and I'm so grateful! Our 'cabin' - Delaware - was an elegant, beautifully appointed space. I could hardly believe how wonderful the place was, especially considering the extremely reasonable price. The beds were high, plush and very comfortable, the bathroom had a slate tile floor and slate tiled shower along with a cedar-lined closet, and the kitchen was equally "upscale". We had a problem with our refrigerator and someone came within about 10 minutes of our call with a replacement frig, and all of the staff were very friendly. We were there during the government shutdown so the place was less than full, and yet when we asked about being able to leave a few days earlier than planned, Jasmyn at the front desk was extremely accomodating. It turned out that we stayed the entire time we'd originally planned and that was partly due to how much we enjoyed the accomodations! It's a little bit out of town, but for us that made it more desirable because it was so quiet and had beautiful countryside all around. Since these are individual 'cabins', you also don't have to deal with the sounds typical in hotels of kids running in the halls, people talking too loudly, etc. I will absolutely stay here again on future trips to Gettysburg!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We couldn’t be happier that you found your recent getaway to The Lodges at Gettysburg "far better than expected!" It is a real treat to read of all that you enjoyed during your visit -- from your guest accommodations to our friendly staff! Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your visit, we always love hearing from our valued guests. Please come back again during you next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

we stayed this weekend and it was a great visit, we go to Gettysburg a few times a year and this was the first time we stayed at the Lodges. We had the Ohio cabin and the view was perfect. It was so quite and the beds are huge. The only negative is that you are away from town and the drive out at night is very dark but well worth it. I will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share wonderful feedback from your recent getaway to The Lodges at Gettysburg. It means a great deal to us that you had a wonderful stay. Please come back and see us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.