We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Wedding!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodges at Gettysburg to your Saves list
The Lodges at Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off BAR
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Wedding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My stay was in a delightful cottage with all the amenities...it was so peaceful and serene there that I had the best night's rest in many years. It was a wonderful place for a wedding...my granddaughter got married down by the lake and the reception was held in the beautiful facilities on site. Food and service were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed a pleasant stay complete with beautiful views and a family wedding. Thank you for such a high honor and for recommending our property to other travelers. We are delighted that the staff, accommodations and overall experience impressed you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    68
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
99
123
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lodge it self was everything our family of 6 was hoping for. We stayed in a LT. Lodge, The New Jersey. It had a decent view off the back porch. The lodge was very clean and wonderful. Every time we returnd to the lodge after a long day exploring we would find everything put back in its place,straightened up, cleaned, towels replenished and our childrens things (toys and stuffed animals) place neatly on the beds and couch, posed in different positions. They loved that.
We took snacks and beverages to keep everyone satisfied. The kitchenette was perfect for that. The Fridge was a very good size. The beds were comfy (pull out couch a bit rough, but to be expected). No complaints at all. We will definately be returning and I would recommend staying here to anybody. Already have to several of our family members. For a large family (5 or more) this beats the pants off staying at a hotel and trying to get adjoing rooms.

I saw nothing misleading about this place at all. If you take the time to research it and take a close look at it on the map you will realize it is not on the battlefield. With that said it is an 8 minuite drive to the battlefield and 10 minutes to town....not bad at all. IF you stayed at a hotel on the North side of town, it would take you longer to get to Museuem and south end of the battlefield by having to drive through town and all the traffice and traffic lights. The way we drove takes you past the Eisenhower grounds and dumps you right to the entrance to the park at the Peach Orchard with easy access to the Wheatfield, Devils den and the Round Tops. All very popular places to visit. Not to mention it also took us right over Marsh creek, past Sach's bridge. We loved the location...VERY BEAUTIFUL. The surrounding landscapes were amazing. I would love to live there.
As this place matures, it will be someplace special. There was a wedding on Friday when we arrived and again on Saturday. A great place for a celebration like that.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review on Trip Advisor! We enjoyed having you and your family stay with us and are looking forward to your next visit too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIRKWOOD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Simply wonderful! We so enjoyed our stay at the Lodges at Gettysburg. The Lodge was spacious and comfortable. The view was spectacular..... the grounds were gorgeous and there was even a pond to fish in. We would go back again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Any room that they have would offer a fantastic stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night so that we could visit Gettysburg. Although it was not walking distance to the battlefield, it was a short 10 minute drive (maybe a tad less) to the grounds. Before booking, I researched some B&B's in downtown Gettysburg and I am so glad I stuck with the Lodges at Gettysburg. For one, downtown Gettysburg appeared a little dirty and run down.

The reason why I gave this hotel a 4 star instead of 5 was for minor reasons. We stayed in the Michigan cabin, which was private, had a nice view, and was a little bit farther apart from the other cabins. However, the shower didn't drain too well, the towel rack was missing and had not been repaired, and they lacked a selection of wine to purchase from the lobby. Also, when we first arrived, which was earlier than the check in time, the woman at the front desk wasn't too friendly. To her credit, she did allow us to check in since our room was ready.

Despite all of the above, I still would come back to visit. The property was beautiful and peaceful and the staff warmed up quickly after striking conversation.

Note: I found the food in downtown Gettysburg to be unhealthy and unappealing. There is a grocery market named Kennies near downtown Gettysburg where you can stock up on food. However, they do not sell alcohol and it was difficult for us to find a bottle of wine anywhere. Plan on bringing your own before getting to Gettysburg. If you decide to buy from the hotel, just realize they may not have much to choose from. They only had 3 different bottles of white to choose from because they had sold out of the rest.

Room Tip: The Michigan room was detached and spacious. Probably had one of the better views compared to many o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your Gettysburg trip! We are so glad you had a great time exploring the town and that you enjoyed our peaceful setting. We hope you come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The lodges themselves was nice and clean some of the furnishings was out of date, But the grounds was horrible nothing nice about it all. Most of the lodges are on top of a rocky non landscape grounds just dirt stones ETC very hard to walk on, No flowers or grass hardly any parking. It remained me of camp when I was a kid lodges in the middle of nowhere with nothing to look at . The lobby was small and closes so if your family or anyone needs to reach you they have to call the police at night its pitch dark with no lights outside at all in fact it was kind of creepy. It’s far from town on a winding back road. No place to grab snacks or food. On their website they offer packages but none of it takes place there its off site. Only one small section of the grounds near the office was nice but nothing you can view from your lodge. Upon arrival after a short time we requested our money Back. Our money was refunded and the lady was nice enough about it

Room Tip: This may be a ok place for a honeymoon when you don't leave the room, But its not a place for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
All guest feedback is important to us, so we greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your comments. Please accept our apologies that our property did not exceed your expectations. We are pleased to hear our front desk staff was able to help you out. We would like to share that our website includes all pertinent information regarding our property and room types and what they offer. Our staff is always happy to assist in finding the perfect accommodations to suit the needs of our guests. Thank you and we hope you will consider a future stay at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

When reading the description and looking at the pictures, I believed that The Lodges overlooked a battlefield and the beautiful covered bridge were a part of the property. NOT! I even talked to the person in reservations about renting a cabin overlooking the battlefield. The Lodges are located about 6 miles from the battlefield and town, in the countryside. You need to take your car everywhere. The Lodges are attractive and well appointed but very far away from anything. May be great for a wedding where you can rent the whole complex and have a lodge for the ceremony then sleeping quarters for everyone.

Room Tip: If you rent the Corporal's Quarters, it is a hotel room attached to the side of one of the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We hope you will accept our sincerest apologies that your recent stay was not the wonderful experience we hope for each of our valued guests. We are a bit off the beaten path, which is why most of our guests choose our location. Close to the tourists sites, but not too close. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and your kind feedback about our property. We hope you would consider us in the future for a relaxing getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Took a family of 6 for one night. The lodges are definitely off the beaten path. We weren't sure the GPS was going the right way until we were already there, but it was. It is a good 15 minutes to civilization. We needed to buy milk for the morning and didn't realize how far away it was, but that was not a problem. The area was very quiet. The view from the path was beautiful. The cabin was very clean and had everything we would have needed. My kids loved the very high beds. They found that to be an adventure. We would certainly stay there if we came back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share wonderful feedback from your recent getaway to The Lodges at Gettysburg. We are truly pleased you enjoyed our "off the beaten path" location as well as the property itself. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.