We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat yet still close to all the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added The Lodges at Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodges at Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off BAR
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Jersey Shore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat yet still close to all the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family and I were extremely happy and highly satisfied with our choice to stay at the Lodges. We were warmly greeted by Jasmyn at the front desk. She was friendly, helpful and more than willing to answer all of our questions. We stayed in the Lieutenants lodge which was meticulously cleaned, well stocked and nicely maintained- (thank you Cameron in housekeeping) Our lodge was spacious enough to accommodate our family of five and not leave us feeling cramped or on top of each other like we do in hotel rooms. The grounds at the Lodges are simply gorgeous- we loved watching the sunset from the back porch, as well as walking the trails around the lake. The Lodges are close enough to all of the action but still far enough away to provide a retreat from all the crowded attractions. After being in town all day we really looked forward to the pure pleasure of returning to the Lodges knowing we would be able to unwind in peace and quiet. All five of us agreed we would never want to stay anywhere else in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    65
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
93
116
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I chose this lodge based on reviews that I read and requested a lieutenant's lodge. We arrived in the middle of the week and found The Lodges to be quiet, private, and peaceful. When we opened up our door, I found that the a/c had already been turned on which was great because it was sunny and hot that day. The cabin was clean (and I like things clean) and the queen beds were super comfortable. It was quiet at night; we did not have neighbors next to us in the corporal's quarters. Our deck did not have chairs and I noticed other cabins did, if I came back I would bring chairs or request them because the deck area backed up to woods and was shaded. I loved the location of this place because it was in the country and not in town; driving to Gettysburg Battle locations took no time at all. For dinner we drove a few miles and found a KFC, McDonalds and Friendly's not in town so it made getting dinner easy. I suggest walking around the property and checking out the pond. We brought our dinner down there and ate at a picnic table. I do wish The Lodges had a sort of gift shop, I would have bought a coffee mug, towel, tote bag, etc. as a momento from this lovely place.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your great review and tips on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy all of Gettysburg's great history! Please come back and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pledger, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Although a short drive from the picturesque town of Gettysburg, staying at the Lodges was the best thing we ever did. The cabin was spacious, with a full kitchen, a gorgeous bathroom and huge, comfortable bed. The view from the porch of the Alabama lodge was outstanding. The breakfast offered at the Lodge was perfect and a great way to start the day which was typically packed with activity around the battlefield and town.! We absolutely loved our trip to Gettysburg and were moved and awed by the experience. I would highly recommend the Lodges as the perfect resting place, after visiting these hallowed grounds.

Room Tip: The Alabama cabin was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your super review! It sounds like you had a great stay with us in the Alabama Cabin and enjoyed all Gettysburg has to offer its visitors! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, we stayed two nights in a Lieutenants lodge and we have no regrets. When we arrived we were greeted by Jasmine who was very friendly and helpful. Our lodge wasn't ready since we were early but she offered to suggest a few places in town for lunch.
It is a short drive into town but we both enjoyed the quiet and the scenery being out in the country. We loved our lodge. It was clean and very comfortable with a kitchenette, living room and a big bathroom with a slate shower. Our deck didn't have chairs but the next morning we stopped at the desk and once again were greeted by Jasmine who arranged to have two folding chairs sent to our lodge and when we returned in the afternoon the chairs were there waiting for us;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review on TA! We are so pleased to hear your stay was great and that you had a super time here in Gettysburg! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently attended a wedding with the ceremony by the lake, reception inside and accommodations in the cottages. Everything was picturesque, serene, comfy and cozy. Very close to in town to see the historic sites. Large showers, clean linens and fluffy pillows too. One note* if you are seeking a truly private experience make sure to ask for a cabin that does not have an adjoining corporals quarters. We stayed in a corporals quarters, which was lovely and perfect for our needs, but I feel like if you rented a cabin the preference would be to have it all to yourself and not attached to a room. There was a locked door separating us from the main cabin, but the walls were thin...

Room Tip: If you are seeking a truly private experience make sure to ask for a cabin that does not have an adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the nice review on TA! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself at the wedding you attended. It is a great spot for a wedding indeed! Please come back and see us again soon for you own relaxing vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We rented two cabins for the family over Father's Day weekend. The view from our porch was Ken Burns quality. The lodges art spread out along a hillside and overlook the Eisenhower Farm NHP and beyond is Seminary Ridge and Little Round Top. In the mornings when the mist was lifting you could almost hear the cannons firing.

The cabins were clean comfortable, with WiFi, TV, and a complete kitchenette for food preparation and storage for those like us who enjoy a picnic. The location is far enough away from the mad confusion of Gettysburg on a popular weekend that there was complete silence in the evenings and no road noise at all during the day.

A five minute drive over beautiful rural roads dotted with picturesque farms (and even a covered bridge if you know where to look) and you arrive at Confederate Avenue on the Battlefield near where Pickett's Charge started.

This place was absolutely delightful and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review and nice feedback on Trip Advisor! We are so glad to hear you had a delightful stay and were able to enjoy the amazing history that surrounds us! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This place is away from town but not far which too me makes it great. Lots of wildlife and very quite. Cabin was nice & clean with no issues. We did not have anyone in the ajoining cabin so I can not comment on noise. We had a deck off the back but no chairs were out there which would have been nice. I did ask if we still had the option to purchase breakfast since we didnt when booking and was told yes. I'm glad I didnt because while $5.95 is not much the amount you get is comparable to most hotels free breakfast. Waffle maker, cereal, yogurt, apples ect. We took the 10 min drive into town instead. I did see people at the pond fishing and a place for bonfire but we did not have a chance to try those out. I agree with a few others that it would be hard for handicap to get in & out of a few of these cabins and seems like parking right at your cabin could be an issue if all cabins were full. Staff was nice but we seen very few of them. Over all good place for Gettysburg visit as long as you dont want to be in middle of the town. This will def be where we stay if we go back we just wont both with the breakfast they offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our property! We are pleased to hear you had a great stay and enjoyed your stay overall at our Lodges! Please come back and see us again soon....our pond will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.