We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a "cabin"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Lodges at Gettysburg to your Saves list
The Lodges at Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off BAR
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Much more than a "cabin"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The term "cabin" seems to convey a rustic feeling. These accommodations are far from rustic. We stayed for two nights in a well appointed Captain's cabin with plenty of space in the TV sitting area with two comfy chairs; a king sized comfortable bed; a sparkling clean, well equipped kitchenette with a picturesque view of the main building, pond, valley and battlefields, and a fine bathroom with a great slate shower. The continental breakfast was fine for us; we enjoyed talking with the other guests; we loved the view from the breakfast room. You can even take your breakfast outside to the deck chairs if you'd like. We enjoyed fishing in the pond. The staff was exceptional, helpful and welcoming. We discovered the covered bridge on the short ride into town. We feel that The Lodges offers good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with a good view and convenient parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We really are more than just a a "cabin" and glad you noticed! Your comments in your review were so nice to hear and we hope that you will come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    65
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
94
116
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My family and I stayed here twice, once when it was newly opened and again, later in the year. The cabins are very nice inside. We stayed at one of the larger ones facing the meadow and main building. The cabins have all the amenities you will need, including fully equipped kitchens. The only real complaint, which there is nothing that can be done about it, is the obstructed view of the valley and Battlefield because the main conference building was built in front of the view. If you want something quiet with wood like setting ( and fishing pond), go for the Lodges. Definitely more upscale than Little Drummer Boy campground.

Room Tip: Unless you want to look at cabins in front and back of you, ask for one of the larger cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the review on TA. We are pleased to hear you thought your accommodations were nice and had all of the amenities you needed! Thank you for your feedback too and we hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed a long weekend at the Lodges at Gettyburg. Located about 5 miles to the SW of Gettysburg in a beautiful location. Our "lodge" was overlooking rolling, green hills and a pond. The "lodges" are much like upscale small cabins. All the amenities of home, refrigerator, TV, etc. Ours was a one bedroom lodge with an attached additional one bedroom that can be rented to make it a two bedroom lodge. Or in our case the doors that join the two rooms were closed and locked. Nice, quiet and cozy quarters away from the usually crowded Gettysburg. While the place was clean, I agree with other commenters that there were spots around the lodge where the broom, mop and duster had missed. On the second night someone rented the adjoining room and it was very easy to hear what was said in the other room through the closed doors. Soundproofing could be better. We opted to not get the continental breakfast offered at the main Lodge. Instead we went into town and had breakfast at one of the many family diners. This would be a great place for larger groups, reunions, wedding parties, company retreats or even spiritual retreats. And during our visit the price was very competitive with the typical hotel chains for a mere room, let alone a one bedroom suite.

Room Tip: The lodges located on the higher ground offer super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your getaway from the crowds and had a nice stay with us. Thank you for your feedback too, as we are continually working to improve. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Lodges while touring historic Gettysburg; three couples in two lodges. We found them to be spacious, comfortable and peaceful. The view of the reflecting pond and rolling hillside was picturesque. What a find!
Upon arrival the front desk attendant was helpful and aiming to please. Check-in was easy. Our lodges/individual cottages were clean and ready. There is a single room option but we were glad to have chosen the private lodges; just a little special.
The Lodges are six miles from town; a trade off with a beautiful drive to get there.
Morning continental breakfast was self-serve: pastries, bagels, waffles, cereal, fresh fruit and beverages. Nothing unusual; not much protein and disappoining coffee.
Each lodge has a kitchen with dishes, a Kuerig individual coffeemaker(which was nice!), small refrigerator and microwave among the rustic furnishings. There is a small patio.
The Lodges are a good way to get away from busy areas, to relax, and enjoy the countryside.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you time in Gettysburg and found our lodges comfortable and peaceful! We hope that you will find time to come back again soon to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Fe, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My son and I decided to do a guys trip to Washington, DC to catch-up. He lives in Sweden and I hadn't seen him in a while. A friend recommended the "Lodges" and we drove about an hour and a half from Dulles for our first night's stay. I have to tell you that we were both incredibly pleasantly surprised. This is a five star abode just five minutes from the battlefield. Quiet serene beauty and excellent accommodations is just exactly what we needed and found. If you are planning a trip to this historic site, I promise you can do no better than the beautiful "Lodges at Gettysburg."

Room Tip: Get a dining recommendation from the front desk. We loved the lodge "Maryland".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear your time with you son was all that you had hoped. It is a great place to get away and re-connect or just simply enjoy the beauty that surrounds us! Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is a great out-of-town experience. We really enjoyed being away in the peace and quiet. It really was not like staying in a rustic cabin but in a very up-to-date "little house.". We so enjoyed the fireplace as we had been out all day playing tourist at the battlefield. Recommend it if you are ever in Gettysburg!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review on Trip Advisor! We sure love to hear that it was a "great out-of-town experience"! We hope all of our guests can get away from it all and enjoy our beautiful setting, glad you did! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a captains lodge for an overnight getaway. We stayed in the Ohio, the inside of our charming little lodge was much more upscale than I imagined, slate floors and shower in the bathroom, the king bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchenette was very nicely equipped with a kuerig coffee maker, dishes, microwave and small fridge. We had a little granite counter and stools in front of a window that looked out over the main lodge. We took a stroll along one the paths in the woods surrounding the property and saw a herd of white tail deer. Your are close to downtown Gettysburg and all the attractions but away from all the crowds when you are ready to relax and unwind. We loved it here so much we booked another get away weekend when we checked out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thanks for the kind review here on TA. We are glad that your getaway fantastic and hope that you are able to come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.