We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodges at Gettysburg to your Saves list
The Lodges at Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at the Lousiana Lodge. Nice 1 bedroom lodge with 2 queen beds in the room and 1 pull out couch. The breakfeast is great. We had a great time in this beautiful lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manger at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thanks for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg for you stay! We are glad you had a nice stay in the "Louisiana Lodge"! Please Fan us on Facebook too and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    71
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
105
124
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a lovely stay. I've only positive feedback for this terrific place, away from the hustle of Gettysburg proper. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the pond, and its wildlife, the views and the song chorus of animals. Okay, its our kinda place. If quite and nature appeal, this place will appeal.

The Lieutenant's cabin was clean, well stocked, comfortable (and we prepared for it by bringing our own wine, breakfasts, and out own coffee grounds).

I am from the North, however, and we don't use A/C. So I would only recommend screens on the windows and doors so that nature breezes could come in. But that is such a minor absence of commodity (even if highly recommended).

Room Tip: Stay two days for maximum pleasure (heck I wished I'd had four, as this is a fine place relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manger at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for the great review! WE pride ourselves in trying to make each guest experience as memorable and perfect as possible! We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us at The Lodges at Gettysburg, 'Like' us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I found this place on Hotels.com and thought it would be nice to stay out of the city. The room description said “Room Only” and not being sure what this meant I contacted the hotel directly. I was told this was a PRIVATE lodge and that “Room Only” just meant there was no kitchenette. When I enquired if there was a patio or porch we could sit out on I was told yes, there was. Sounds great, right? So I booked the room. When we arrived I was informed that our ATTACHED room (therefore not private) was on the service road with a STOOP (not patio or balcony). So let’s recap… Tiny cracker box sized room attached to another room with 4 people in it and paper thin walls. No porch or patio as promised. View of absolutely nothing. Absolutely nothing was done to remedy the situation after I explained all of this to the guy who checked us in. Just “Sorry, don’t know who told you that…here’s your room key.” BEWARE, these people lie. So if you’re booking a room based on the description, just be warned.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, General Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
I am truly upset to be reading this review, as all of our front desk associates are fully trained in our room types and what is included in them. In researching your reservation, I cannot find any indication that the reservation was viewed prior to your arrival. Our system tracks each time a reservation is opened and who opened it. I am not sure with whom you spoke, but I am sorry that there was some type of misunderstanding regarding your room amenities. We have an extremely honest and caring staff and they would never try to say that you were getting something that you were not. We did try to upgrade you upon arrival, however, we did express that we were sold out that particular day and unfortunately could not move your reservation to a private lodge. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and if we had the room to move you, we would have. We offered our front porches at the main lodge and tried to make your stay a good one. I am very disappointed that you feel the way you do about the Lodges and I am sorry that we failed to provide you with the room you thought you were promised. I hope that you can consider giving us a try again, as what you experienced was not the norm for our property. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further so that I can understand where the problem was in the reservation process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at the Lodges at GB during the annual reenactment. It is a nice place with gorgeous views and nice rooms. When we reserved only a queen room by mistake, they brought a very comfy and thick pallet for my son. He slept well. Thank you!

We had no Internet the entire time. When I called the front desk about it, I got some attitude. They said the tech people would look into it, but no one did. Didn't have a connection through our entire stay. We only stayed two nights or I would have pushed it more.

There's only one lamp in the room and it does not have an on/off switch. Must be unplugged to turn off. Required me to get completely out of bed just to turn on the lamp. TV is tiny. Not a lot of counter space for stuff. A desk would be nice. Huge fluffy towels! Nice! Great in-town recommendations for dining and helpful maps. We did believe that we would be able to see monuments or battlefields, but the hotel is really not part of all that. A/C works very well.

I docked them a lot for no Internet. It's a big deal to me. And they were not too concerned with helping. Otherwise, nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our views and your accommodations. Thanks you for the feedback and suggestions. We are always working hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay and will continually make improvements int he areas that are needed. Thanks again and FAN us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Let me assure you this is NO DISNEY resort- Goldilocks designed this to get even with the 3 Bears.
We wanted something quiet- out of town
Location nice-quiet- NOWHERE to sit outside (or inside) your wooded cabin to enjoy the setting-
The bed was so high you had to climb in- I am 5'2- cabable of the climb - good thing cause
1 chair in the room- a rocker- so short it was too low for me (the person who had to climb up the bed).
Only 1 bedside table- no other tables or places to put computer, cup, book, anything.
Shower - big :). Shower curtain little ;(, 3 inches too short.

Breakfast center- HIGH Pedastal tables (unstable) stools- high that spun as you CLIMBED onto them. The second day they had a second site open with normal seating. We knew we couldn't take it back to the room-no table -no chair...
Check in 4 arrived at 5 not clean....yet. There is more- but really ....enough

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manger at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are sorry you feel this way about your stay at The Lodges. We do thank yo for your feedback and as always we continually work to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This lodge is in a gorgeous setting. Wish we could have stayed longer - lovely rooms. Everything is new and beautiful. I do agree with the reviewer below that the bathrooms are a little cold with all the rock - some throw rugs would be nice. They had all the amenties that you need and the beds were great. We laughed hard as my husband didn't know if he could climb that high! The breakfast was very adequate. they have a beautiful main building. I'm sure in a few years this lodge will be the #1 place to stay in Gettysburg as it is only 10 minutes from downtown and the setting is just gorgeous. Two suggestions I would make as this new lodge is a property in the process of being the BEST. One - get a sign on the main highway - 116/Middle Road. If the Transmission Shop sign wasn't there I would have missed it every time we were on the road. Also cut back the bushes at your entrance as your 2 signs are hard to see until you are right there - hated slamming on my brakes each time so I wouldn't pass it. My 2nd suggestion - paint your cedar planks the beautiful green you have on the main building or at least stain them. The weathering in just 1 year is making the black run up the walls and it cheapens each cabin. I hate to see the cabins spoiled with the ugly black as we can tell you have spent a lot of money using the beautiful rock that is on all your cabins. This is just an eyesore that can be corrected easily. I wish you well - you have a beautiful lodge! We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you are visiting Gettysburg this is the place to stay - you feel like you are right in the action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful setting and our rooms. We are glad you would come back and appreciate the nice comments and suggestions you have given us. Thank you and please fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed three nights and were very happy with our stay! The Lodge we stayed in was very clean and nice. The location is perfect - out of the center of town but not too far out. Never more than 10 minutes from anything! Continential breakfast is provided and there was a large group staying on the property while we were there so they brought a basket to our room for breakfast! The Lodge was very quiet and private. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg! We are glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the location and scenery that surrounds us. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Please Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.