We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goldilocks revenge....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodges at Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodges at Gettysburg to your Saves list
The Lodges at Gettysburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off BAR
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Belleville, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Goldilocks revenge....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Let me assure you this is NO DISNEY resort- Goldilocks designed this to get even with the 3 Bears.
We wanted something quiet- out of town
Location nice-quiet- NOWHERE to sit outside (or inside) your wooded cabin to enjoy the setting-
The bed was so high you had to climb in- I am 5'2- cabable of the climb - good thing cause
1 chair in the room- a rocker- so short it was too low for me (the person who had to climb up the bed).
Only 1 bedside table- no other tables or places to put computer, cup, book, anything.
Shower - big :). Shower curtain little ;(, 3 inches too short.

Breakfast center- HIGH Pedastal tables (unstable) stools- high that spun as you CLIMBED onto them. The second day they had a second site open with normal seating. We knew we couldn't take it back to the room-no table -no chair...
Check in 4 arrived at 5 not clean....yet. There is more- but really ....enough

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manger at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
We are sorry you feel this way about your stay at The Lodges. We do thank yo for your feedback and as always we continually work to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    68
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
99
123
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This lodge is in a gorgeous setting. Wish we could have stayed longer - lovely rooms. Everything is new and beautiful. I do agree with the reviewer below that the bathrooms are a little cold with all the rock - some throw rugs would be nice. They had all the amenties that you need and the beds were great. We laughed hard as my husband didn't know if he could climb that high! The breakfast was very adequate. they have a beautiful main building. I'm sure in a few years this lodge will be the #1 place to stay in Gettysburg as it is only 10 minutes from downtown and the setting is just gorgeous. Two suggestions I would make as this new lodge is a property in the process of being the BEST. One - get a sign on the main highway - 116/Middle Road. If the Transmission Shop sign wasn't there I would have missed it every time we were on the road. Also cut back the bushes at your entrance as your 2 signs are hard to see until you are right there - hated slamming on my brakes each time so I wouldn't pass it. My 2nd suggestion - paint your cedar planks the beautiful green you have on the main building or at least stain them. The weathering in just 1 year is making the black run up the walls and it cheapens each cabin. I hate to see the cabins spoiled with the ugly black as we can tell you have spent a lot of money using the beautiful rock that is on all your cabins. This is just an eyesore that can be corrected easily. I wish you well - you have a beautiful lodge! We will definitely return when we are in the area.

Room Tip: If you are visiting Gettysburg this is the place to stay - you feel like you are right in the action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor! We are glad you enjoyed our wonderful setting and our rooms. We are glad you would come back and appreciate the nice comments and suggestions you have given us. Thank you and please fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed three nights and were very happy with our stay! The Lodge we stayed in was very clean and nice. The location is perfect - out of the center of town but not too far out. Never more than 10 minutes from anything! Continential breakfast is provided and there was a large group staying on the property while we were there so they brought a basket to our room for breakfast! The Lodge was very quiet and private. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg! We are glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the location and scenery that surrounds us. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Please Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Every June the middle school teachers I taught with along with significant others meet in a different location. This year we met in Gettysburg, PA and stayed at a new location, The Lodges at Gettysburg. These are separate one or two bedroom buildings located on a hill with panoramic views of the battlefield in the distance. If you know what to look for, you could locate the Round Tops and Culp's Hill. The cottages were designed nicely for two couples to share yet have their privacy. The best thing for our group of 20 this year was being able to use the large breakfast room to meet in to eat, drink, and make merry!

Abraham Lincoln even came to visit us.

Room Tip: I believe there are several choices. Our unit was 2 bed, 2 bath with living room and kitchen. One of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased your school trip was a success and all of the middle school teachers enjoyed their time here! We are also glad you got a visit from Abraham Lincoln:)! Please Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Room was not clean, grounds were unkempt and overgrown (cigarette butts and beer bottles outside of the cabin) and the manager said she would take care of things and nothing was ever done. No seats on back deck as supposedly included. This was in May 2012 and still never heard any apology from manager/owner. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look for a place who advertises a restaurant and actually has one, same with the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

the cabins are beautiful!..setting is lovely...BUT!..this is a recently opened property(perhaps a yr or so)...I am going to make suggestions that , if followed, could improve other's experiences at this lovely property! The bathrooms are beautifully done in slate floor and slate shower.....the result is COLD!!!! a rug in front of the sink and commode would help alot! There is NO MIRROR in the bedroom!!!(unbelievable!) we ladies NEED a full length mirror somewhere in the suite..back of bedroom door works just fine usually..this would also allow one person to be doing hair /make-up while the other is using the bathroom to shower/shave... there is no phone book, writing paper or pen anywhere in the suite....not even a bible in the drawer!..where are those Gideons? breakfast is SPARCE..even a bargain hotel that offers breakfast will have eggs/bacon/sausage in warmers for self serve. a few throw pillows are needed on the livingroom sofa..one size does not fit all..also, a small step should be provided for the beds.....the beds are lovely, but all are the high style...petite ladies often need a step...I have a lovely mahagony step at home in the master..I was forced to turn over the waste basket to use as a step...would be a charming touch to have a wooden step available. And then the TV issue..the size of a postage stamp in both the livingroom and bedroom! my husband was very disappointed while trying to watch the Yankees in the evening....most folks have large screen tvs at home..why would we pay big bucks to have less than what we have at home? we had a miniscule ice tray in the freezer...all freezers should have 2 standard size ice trays!($2 from the dollar store..not a big deal here!) I could go on....there is great potential at this property..but high rates to stay there are not yet appropriate. Hopefully, this advice will be heeded and others will feel more comfortable during their stay and choose to come back...unless those changes are made I would not have the desire to return.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view..ours faced a cul-de-sac and no view in rear...also, ask for a room in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg as your vacation spot! We appreciate your feedback and design tips and we will look into these items as improvements. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Please Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at The Lodges at Gettysburg. The room was attractive, the bathroom clean and the bed was comfortable. The location was beautiful, overlooking the battlefield with a small lake to hike around. The continental breakfast was very good. We were concerned that we might be too far from downtown... it wasn't. In fact the short drive through the countryside was enjoyable. When in the country we enjoy sleeping with the windows open, we couldn't at The Lodges because there were no window screens. We also were disappointed with the coffee maker, it didn't work. If you enjoy a cocktail before dinner be sure to ask for two glasses our room only had one. The Lodges is a fun and attractive place to stay while you visit one of our national treasures...The Gettysburg battlefield.
Chandler Hatcher

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise S, Social Media Manager at The Lodges at Gettysburg, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing The Lodges at Gettysburg as your vacation spot! We are glad you had a nice time and enjoyed the location and scenery that surrounds us. We hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Please Fan us on Facebook too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodges at Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodges at Gettysburg

Address: 685 Camp Gettysburg Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodges at Gettysburg 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodges at Gettysburg is a warm and elegant private retreat set on 63 secluded acres and conveniently located just under 70 miles from Washington DC, Baltimore MD, and Harrisburg PA. Its private modern lodge accommodations are complete with fully equipped kitchenettes, bathrooms, fireplaces, hardwood floors, heating and air conditioning, private porches, vaulted beam ceilings, Flat Screen TVs and secure high speed internet connections. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodges at Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodges At Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodges at Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.