We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garryowen Irish Pub

Garryowen Irish Pub
126 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA
+1 717-337-2719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gettysburg's only Irish-owned and operated pub offers a genuine taste of Ireland through "Ceol, cainte agus craic" Music, talk & fun. Open 7 days for lunch & dinner, The Garryowen, or "The GO" as it's know to our regulars, is as inviting as any pub found back in the old country with friendly service, a large selection of Irish whiskies, the best of Ireland's draft beers, and the perfect pour of Guinness which is complimented with a carefully picked selection of international and domestic premium beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen prepares the most authentic Irish fare in the area from the owners' family recipes, with many ingredients imported directly from Ireland. Paired with traditional pub fare, made in house daily from scratch with local ingredients where possible. Our menu is sure to satisfy the most discerning of tastes. Enjoy your meal in our cozy dining room, by the fireplace or at the bar.The first and third Sundays of each month are a special treat for lovers of Irish music, with a traditional 'Seisun' from 2 til 5pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
Franklin Ohio
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Fish!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent the day at Gettysburg and we got super hungery. It was 4 before we had "lunch" but it was very good. I don't even like beer but had 2 and liked it. One was a harp .. .anyway i had the fish and he had a burger ... we both agreed my fish was AMAZING. It's super big and he was willing to help me eat it. It didn't taste greasy or fishy ... or too much batter. I could eat it once a week and still love it. I didn' t get fries .. don't like frys ... I think I got potato chips with it but the fish was enough for a meal. It was a fun pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    216
    52
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Liverpool, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant Highlight of the entire trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I convinced my mother that we should go here, because it was ranked so high on this website.
Let me tell you... It. Was. Amazing.
We were lucky enough to find a parking spot right on the street by the pub. And we only had to wait a moment to be seated (But don't be fooled... we were told by our waitress, and other people we talked to, that we were lucky. And they were right, because the entire visit, there were constantly people showing up, waiting for tables, etc.).
Our waitress was so lovely! She was friendly and attentive, and was waiting on just about the ENTIRE room on her own! It's not a huge place, by any means, but that's still a lot for one person. And I don't believe I ever saw her use a pen and paper to write down orders. Nor did I see her make any mistakes, and we were there for about 90 minutes!
We started off with the $14 Sampler Platter. It sounds kind of expensive, but it was delicious, and well worth the money! Being able to try a "Scotch Egg" was a new experience for me, and if you're up for trying new foods, I would suggest it. It's a way to try a little piece of Ireland, while sitting in PA!
Our main dishes were: A "Wee Bit" of Fish & Chips, which was not a wee bit at all, and the Guinness Beef Stew (very tasty!!!). And then for dessert, we each got our own. The Irish Soda Bread Bread Pudding, and the cheesecake. Delicious ending to a perfect meal!!
This was, by far, the best food we had the entire visit to Gettysburg, and I know I will find my way back there again! In fact, I cannot wait to plan my next trip there, just to have more of the stew!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food worth waiting for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had made reservations, which I would recommend. We had a 30 minute wait for our food, which is consistent with other reviewers. The shepherd's pie was delicious & the serving was generous. There are a variety of authentic Irish fare, beers, & whiskeys. We sampled the chocolate torte, which was a dark chocolate that was surprisingly light and melted in your mouth. This is a restaurant that I would definitely frequent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worth the visit to walk in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Went here with friends and had the fish and chips. Nothing outstanding but I liked the dining experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Second times a charm"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our second visit, the first visit the kitchen was closed for remodeling. This is truly a belly up to the bar type pub. Had the fish and chips, very enjoyable. The bangers and mash were on my radar the whole way, but couldn't (my fault, long story) next time for sure! The bartenders know how to pour a pint, the atmosphere is a bit tight, prices were just right, everything an authentic Irish Pub should be..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garryowen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Garryowen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garryowen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.