We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garryowen Irish Pub

Garryowen Irish Pub
126 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA
+1 717-337-2719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gettysburg's only Irish-owned and operated pub offers a genuine taste of Ireland through "Ceol, cainte agus craic" Music, talk & fun. Open 7 days for lunch & dinner, The Garryowen, or "The GO" as it's know to our regulars, is as inviting as any pub found back in the old country with friendly service, a large selection of Irish whiskies, the best of Ireland's draft beers, and the perfect pour of Guinness which is complimented with a carefully picked selection of international and domestic premium beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen prepares the most authentic Irish fare in the area from the owners' family recipes, with many ingredients imported directly from Ireland. Paired with traditional pub fare, made in house daily from scratch with local ingredients where possible. Our menu is sure to satisfy the most discerning of tastes. Enjoy your meal in our cozy dining room, by the fireplace or at the bar.The first and third Sundays of each month are a special treat for lovers of Irish music, with a traditional 'Seisun' from 2 til 5pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had eaten at the Pub the night before this and it was ok (see that review), we walked by this place after our Segway tour (see review) and thought we would try it out. We had a great seat next to the window. It is a nice little place, not a lot of seating but as it was a late lunch we didn't have to wait.

My husband got the bangers and mash and man were we surprised when it came out it looked like a meal at a gourmet restaurant. Not expected as this is a pub and that was what we were expecting. The presentation was done very nicely and it tasted amazing.

I got the fish and chips, small order. I will say it was tasty however it lived up to the small portion as it was literally about a 2 x 3 rectangle. I will say the fries with mine were just ordinary. This was a great lunch. We will be going back to Gettysburg and can almost guarantee that we will return for the food and atmosphere.

I would agree the food service was a little slow, but the staff was very nice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    220
    52
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The restaurant choices in downtown Gettysburg are really lacking. After some terrible food at other locations, our innkeeper recommended Garyowen and thankfully the food was very good, we had the homemade shephard's pie and we enjoyed it very much. The salads we had were also very good. Lot's of Irish brands of alcohol and the menu seemed to us authentically Irish although I can't profess to know for sure. This is trying to be a real Irish pub, so don't expect fine high-end dining, but just real good and tasty food. Must also say that service was very friendly but a little slow for the volume of people when we were there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An all around five star stop for anyone visiting Gettysburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate here for dinner (and returned the next day for lunch) during a recent trip to Gettysburg. We had a short wait for dinner, which after a mediocre dinner elsewhere "downtown" the night before, was totally worth it. The staff, and owner, actually seem to want to ensure that everyone has a good experience and it shows. It's very family friendly, and the food is terrific. The menu does not over-reach and includes some nice touches. The atmosphere was very comfortable, service was attentive and efficient, and prices were great. I would (and did) highly recommend Garryowen to anyone travelling to Gettysburg, I don't think you can go wrong. Try an icy glass Magners Pear Cider - the owner gave us directions to a local shop where we stocked up! (I believe they also sell it upstairs).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It's a good place to get a lager and lime.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It looks cute from the outside and the inside is typical of what you would expect. We almost left because we waited so long for someone to take our beer order. There weren't many people in there either at that time. We wouldn't go back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to us by The Lodges at Gettysburg where we were staying. We went for lunch and we weren't disappointed. We had the fish and chips which were perfect. The service was good, the food was good, the prices were good and they even had live Irish music because it was a Sunday afternoon. Great choice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garryowen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Garryowen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garryowen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.