We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and terrific pub atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garryowen Irish Pub

Garryowen Irish Pub
126 Chambersburg Street, Gettysburg, PA
+1 717-337-2719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gettysburg's only Irish-owned and operated pub offers a genuine taste of Ireland through "Ceol, cainte agus craic" Music, talk & fun. Open 7 days for lunch & dinner, The Garryowen, or "The GO" as it's know to our regulars, is as inviting as any pub found back in the old country with friendly service, a large selection of Irish whiskies, the best of Ireland's draft beers, and the perfect pour of Guinness which is complimented with a carefully picked selection of international and domestic premium beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen prepares the most authentic Irish fare in the area from the owners' family recipes, with many ingredients imported directly from Ireland. Paired with traditional pub fare, made in house daily from scratch with local ingredients where possible. Our menu is sure to satisfy the most discerning of tastes. Enjoy your meal in our cozy dining room, by the fireplace or at the bar.The first and third Sundays of each month are a special treat for lovers of Irish music, with a traditional 'Seisun' from 2 til 5pm. Reservations are highly recommended.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great food and terrific pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had a wonderful meal here. It is the perfect Irish pub; dark, with interesting people and very friendly service. Our waiter was great, a nice man with a beard. Very knowledgable. We had our seven year old with us and that was no issue. They are family friendly and have a kids menu.
The food is what really got us. I loved the appetizer with quail eggs. Yum! Myhusband had the beef stew and raved about it. My dinner was the gaelic shrimp and it was very good. Not light, but good.

Beer selection is great with all that you would expect in an Irish pub. Highly recommend for a good dinner!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    220
    52
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Banger's and Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

After a very full day of visiting the Natl. battlefield, stopped at this pub to refuel. Has a real Irish pub feel. Located in one of Gettysburgs many historic buildings just blocks from the downtown circle. Greeted by friendly server Jill and staff. I selected, Bangers and Mash and my wife chose the Shepards Pie. Both were delicious and ample. Washed it down with a couple pints of Stubborn Irish Prig. A local dark ale produced in nearby Chambersburg, Pa. Good food, good ale, reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We tried this place after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. This place is GREAT! Staff from hostess to bar tender to food servers were wonderful! Loved the menu. We enjoyed the food so much we went back a second night and were not disappointed. Try the shrimp over the bruschetta. Fabulous! Best food we had on our two week trip.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had driven past this place many times and decided to give it a try this past Saturday (Sept 29). Glad we did. Great atmosphere and friendly service. Wife had iced tea and the Guinness beef stew. I had 2 Guinness', Irish onion soup (made with Guinness) and the Shepherd's pie. Food was very tasty. For the price you got a lot of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Food at Good Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The food was good and the prices were great. I wouldn't say authentic Irish fare, but was tasty. We had Shepard's Pie and Bangers and Mash. The Shepard's pie was made with ground beef and not lamb (sadly, i realize this is a common practice, but not authentic). The Bangers and Mash was heavy on the mash and light on the bangers. With both our dinners with an extra side salad and 3 glasses of wine, we were out the door for less than $50 including tip. With those prices, the food was good enough for us.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garryowen Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Garryowen Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garryowen Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.