We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done, a bit long” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guided Historic Walking Tours

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Guided Historic Walking Tours
Gettysburg Hotel, One Lincoln Square, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-339-6161
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 36 activities in Gettysburg
Type: Historic Walking Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: VARIOUS ROUTES, SPECIALTY & CUSTOM TOURS AVAILABLE Guided walking tours in downtown Gettysburg by Licensed Town Guides are 90 minutes. The tours provide stories from diary entries, personal accounts, letters, drawings, and photographs with stories of Tillie Pierce, Henrietta Shriver, the canon known as “Penelope”, Mary Virginia Wade, Sarah Broadhead, Mary McAllister, Elizabeth Gilbert, John Burns and many, many others.
Westminster, Md
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well done, a bit long”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Again, every American should experience Gettysburg. The walking tour is well done, so informative if a bit long. Perhaps not for ADHD folks, the taped auto tour would be better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We did the 3pm guided tour with Kevin. We were lucky to be the only ones on the tour so were much more involved. It really complemented the knowledge we had gained driving round the whole park. Very interesting to learn how individual citizens of the town had been affected in the battle. And the importance of Gettysburg to other presidents since then. Very good, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went on several of the free guided walking tours the park service makes available to the visiting public. These are absolutely worth your time! Our historian guides were amazing, enthusiastic, knowledgeable, interesting ... I was so impressed and pleased that these were available for one and all! I wish we could have experienced all of the talks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderfully informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I just love the downtown area of Gettysburg. It too has a plenty of history and this is the perfect way to learn about it. Also, we had a great tour guide. She was friendly, knowledgeable, and made the tour fun. Try the 10am tour, we were the only ones there making it quite nice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was really fun and informative. We highly recommend this part of the trip to take in downtown Gettysburg. What a quaint and historic town. We wish we had stayed longer b/c there is just so much to see and do!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guided Historic Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Guided Historic Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guided Historic Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guided Historic Walking Tours to your Saves list