We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Restaurant

1863 Restaurant
Wyndham Gettysburg, 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-339-0020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 115 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 1863 Restaurant is a "family-friendly", unique, casual dining restaurant that offers a wide range of appetizers, steaks, salads, sandwiches and desserts plus a few playful twists on old classics. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menu favorites include: steaks, jumbo lump crab cake, tuna tini, mediterranean caesar salad & chicken bruschetta. Don't miss our daily lunch & dinner specials.
North-East Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wife wasn't crazy about her chicken dinner, but my creamy chicken pasta dinner was quite good. The place is a bit over-priced, but the wait staff and the atmosphere including the smooth jazz music was excellent. The hostess asked why we were in town and we said for an anniversary getaway and within minutes, a well-dressed gentlemen arrived with complimentary champagne. Wouldn't give it 5 stars, but a decent 4 star place when you don't want to go far from your hotel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    95
    55
    9
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sophisticated presentation outdone only by the exceptional flavor of crab cakes. Super hostess Linda and efficient server Ellie. Will be returning tonight!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was great. The staff was above and beyond any restaurant I went to! Me and my husband were out for our anniversary and just found out i was expecting baby #3, which was making me feel really sick. It started with ms. Linda at the front who not only was friendly, she suggested stuff on the menu that would help with my belly and told us of great places to visit that would be easy for me. Our waitress was the same way. They also brought me out a sprite to take with me. Then the waitress brought my husband a champaign and me a cherry and sprite to celebrate our anniversary. This was the most wonderful experience I have ever had at a restaurant and I was feeling extremely blah. Thank u so much I will visit again. I highly recommend thus place

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

no driving. right here. staff wonderful. Linda seated us. waitress good and answered all our questions on area and food.
for convenience, highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

A high end place at the Wyndham. Vegetables were food, steak and pork chops bland. The room looks like an afterthought with garish colors trying to recreate colonial Americana. It's OK, nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1863 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1863 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.