We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 1863 Restaurant

1863 Restaurant
Wyndham Gettysburg, 95 Presidential Circle, Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-339-0020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 113 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 1863 Restaurant is a "family-friendly", unique, casual dining restaurant that offers a wide range of appetizers, steaks, salads, sandwiches and desserts plus a few playful twists on old classics. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menu favorites include: steaks, jumbo lump crab cake, tuna tini, mediterranean caesar salad & chicken bruschetta. Don't miss our daily lunch & dinner specials.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

A high end place at the Wyndham. Vegetables were food, steak and pork chops bland. The room looks like an afterthought with garish colors trying to recreate colonial Americana. It's OK, nothing special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    58
    11
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try the Brussel sprouts, they're awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We were hesitant to try this place due to some of the reviews, but we are happy we did. The hostess, Linda, cheerfully greeted us and we were seated promptly. Our server, Ellie, was spot on with her visits to the table. The food was nothing short of amazing! The pork chop could be cut with a fork, and the Brussel sprouts were so delicious, I had them for dessert! It was a very enjoyable experience. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Oregon
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Upscale and worth it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I normally am not much of a hotel restaurant diner so when a friend highly recommended 1863 located in the Wyndham Hotel I had my doubts. Gettysburg has a surfeit of restaurants as would be expected in such a tourist town, and in my experience over the years, they're pretty much the same. 1863, however, has a white linen elegance, excellent menu and wonderful, attentive but unobtrusive service. I was surprised by the few bad reviews but the fact that any restaurant can have a bad incident coupled with the fact that anyone can write a review, you can expect a wide range of reviews. Go with the excellent reviews here. No, it's not cheap and food is not piled high ready for a to go bag. But if you seek a leisurely, upscale dining experience you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food and service were so good that we had lunch and then returned for dinner. While the ambience was elegant and restful, the staff was enthusiastic and welcoming. Linda, the hostess went behind the call of duty to help us celebrate our son's birthday.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“poor food high price tag”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

the seafood was overcooked and the dressings all tasted bottled. The wings are not Buffalo...they are more like a spice BBQ sweet -- yuck. the calamari was sitting in sauce so it became soft and mushy. The mushroom pasta had a strange flavor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1863 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 1863 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1863 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.